window reflections



We finally had a bit of a break in the weather and took a nice afternoon walk, window shopping. The sun was low and caused brilliant reflections and sun flares. Many of my photos had sunspots covering key elements and I couldn't remove them — they weren't the kind that make for nice art.

I am happy with these mirror images — they provide a nice pause for reflection!



The promises of this world are, for the most part, vain phantoms; and to confide in one's self, and become something of worth and value is the best and safest course.
Michelangelo

Keep knocking,
and the joy inside will eventually open a window
and look out to see who’s there.
Rumi

The windows of my soul I throw
Wide open to the sun.
John Greenleaf Whittier

I think you might dispense with half your doctors
if you would only consult Dr. Sun more.
Henry Ward Beecher



CategoryStreet Photography
CameraNikon D3100
LensNikkor AF-S 55mm-200mm f/4.0
LocationDundas, Ontario


©All rights reserved, 2018

Thank you @juliank
for initiating the Monday to Friday photography contests.


Sort:  

Is the gingerbread girl your reflection? :-) I like that shot the best, because of the way you have the tree framed in the window. All it needs is a bird flapping through the scene. A seagull carrying a gingerbread man would be perfect!

Yes!! How did you know I looked like a giant cookie?? It's meeeeeee :)

I'm so happy you liked it. Thanks @fotosdenada!

I knew it! Be careful you don't lose a gumdrop button!

That's what I said. Too close to the sun could melt some of my parts. That would be very embarrassing.!

Simply lovely!

There is something special about reflections. I love them anyway :)

Sometimes you just have to stop and smell the roses or see the reflections. :D

Exactly!! And, I didn't buy anything. I just looked :)

Reflecting on the brilliant reflections ^^ Very interesting pics of windows, the effect of the reflections is really inspiring ^^

Thank you so much @silviabeneforti. Have a nice weekend!

Nice shot!!

Loved the feel and the content of todays post, Deb:) I noticed you were missing that last couple days. Good to have you back:)

Aw, thanks @prydefoltz. Nice to be missed. I just wasn't feeling inspired and I took a break and learned some new things. I still curated by just didn't post.

I love your quote from Beecher about consulting Dr. Sun. Sunshine is the elixir we all need. So fun how you manage to tell a story with your photos, life after winter springs alive!

I love it too...just found it today and it's very true isn't it. The skies are very blue and I felt good being outside even though it was cold in the breeze.

I love shots of windows, reflections, people or mannequins in windows... great subjects. I especially like the first shot :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #streetphotography

You have earned 5.55 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.11
Server time: 22:51:10
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 420.94/800.00
Total Photos: 28
Total comments: 165
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.75 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Good capture of those reflections. It’s hard to get that much reflection without lens flares. Then too, those lens flares can actually be part of the composition. Back in art school – a very long time ago – we had an assignment to incorporate lens flares into our images.

The second image (the Student Union) in this photo essay was one of those photos from the lens flare project: https://steemit.com/cityscapephotography/@momzillanc/university-of-missouri-columbia

Oh that's not bad at all in your photo. I can't find the photo....I'm scattered today.

I detoured through that courtyard every time I went anywhere on campus for days to get that shot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75