A global view on Street Art & Graffiti | Episode 2 #banksy

in #streetart7 years ago (edited)

ldn_pb_sc.jpgLast time I have tried to break it down and explain why I am doing all of this. Why I am spending endless hours walking around old and new streets always hunting for more. Always hunting for more images, and discovering new murals and walls, and also new talents next to old legends or vice versa. I can clearly say it became an obsession (in a good way of course). Moving to London, and then particularly moving to the East End of the capital changed my awareness of the little things in our daily urban environment. However it all started while being on the train and traveling from the rural village to city with half a million inhabitants in southern Germany. Along the rail tracks there I saw it in big and small letters. Letters in different colours, mostly in chrome with red or black outlines, and many of these special signatures called tags.

However, there was a gap of a few years in between when I saw my first Banksy stencil piece in Germany namely in Hamburg's red light neighbourhood called Sankt Pauli. I didn't even know who this dude was, but I instantly liked his 'Flower Thrower'. And I immediately took a picture with my analogue camera at that time. Since then I began liking stencil art a lot, too. Who would have thought that almost two decades later I would be writing about this somewhere online, and this mysterious genius named Banksy would be famous like a pop star.

(All images via banksy.co.uk)

banksy flower thrower2.jpg
chlt14-7.jpg

tot2_2009.jpgpdtla.jpg

boring.jpg

002_sorry_01.jpg

iwwoh.jpg
rt15_06.jpgrt15_10-2.jpgmt_01-2.jpg026_bronxfeb08.jpgoriginalt.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41