Street Art Hunting With The Nephew! Side-trip: Portland Oregon USA Street Art and Graffiti Showcase

in #streetart7 years ago (edited)

Side-trip: Portland, Oregon, USA

2017-06-23 12.27.24.jpg


look2.png

Be on the lookout for:

Street Art.png

baby flourish.png

It's summer vacation out here in Portland, Oregon. That means my nephews don't have to go to school. I asked them if they wanted to go Street Art Hunting with me, and only one of them took me up on my offer.

The weather has finally started to warm up out here. Today was the first time I've used my air conditioner this year. Portland isn't exactly known for it's great weather, but the summers here are awesome. Today was a great day for an excursion.

After doing some research, I found a pretty nice map of Portland street art. Unfortunately the map wouldn't work on my phone. In the end we decided to wander around South East Portland to see what we could see. Some of these we already knew about, most of them we hadn't noticed before.


2017-06-23 12.13.29.jpg

2017-06-23 12.12.04.jpg

This shop had quite the variety of graphics on it. The kid liked the watermelon guy. I like how vibrant it is.

2017-06-23 11.50.03.jpg

I've seen this building before, but I haven't seen this side of it. This snake goes around three sides of the building.

2017-06-23 11.49.29.jpg

Here's the middle of the snake. I got a closer look at that mural in the background and I can't make heads or tails of it. Is it a yellow and orange ice cream trail going by a star surrounded by water? Nobody knows.

2017-06-23 11.51.00.jpg

And here's the tail. Pretty badass!

2017-06-23 11.49.41.jpg

I'm not really a fan of this style. Maybe the building is a daycare or something. Regardless, I think it's a thousand times better than a bare wall.

2017-06-23 11.46.16.jpg

We've seen these guys a hundred times on Stark St. This is the first time we've stopped for a closer look. I love this more and more as I look at it.

2017-06-23 11.47.30.jpg

This is the same wall. These guys are awesome!

2017-06-23 12.21.18.jpg

This piece was above the entrance to a building that may or may not still be in business. I can't tell if this was a commissioned piece or not. Maybe the business provides guards for construction areas?

2017-06-23 12.14.10.jpg

A couple of murals on a garage.

2017-06-23 12.20.36.jpg

This is painted on the side of a convenience store. There's more neighborhood pride in Portland than most cities that I've seen. This is a mural for Buckman Community, apparently.

2017-06-23 12.06.51-Edit.jpg

HEY! YOU'RE PART OF IT. I don't know what this is about, but I like it. It's massive and very detailed.

2017-06-23 12.05.54.jpg

This is across the street from the "YOU'RE PART OF IT" mural. This is only half of the building, I cropped the photo because of a vehicle in the shot. I love it!

2017-06-23 12.07.34.jpg

And here's where we say good bye. Thanks for joining us!


Thanks for reading the post! We had a good time getting out of the house and going down some unfamiliar streets. If you made it this far, please consider hitting the upvote button. I told the kid that I would split the payout of this post with him 50/50. Hopefully we can get the kid some ice cream money. Actually he's a really good saver, he'll most likely stash the money away.

We hope you enjoyed the post. Thanks for reading!

bird.png


Side-trips are my short breaks from blogging about my scooter trip through Vietnam. Click to see my previous Side-trip to Quito Ecuador

Sort:  

These are awesome work..i kinda like seeing some murals once in a while. Some styles i don't really like but they do have catchy colors. thanks for letting me see them. Let's see more stuff in the future.

I'm glad you enjoyed them! I'll probably post some more this week, if I find new ones.

You'll never know what you can find in some hidden corners ;)

What bring you joy?

Seeing this great content, this great streetart! Thanks your sharing this link of your post in steemit chat, im really glad to read it.

It's awesome what beautiful bricks of art are everywhere around the world. There are so fcking talented people, it's just awesome!

I hope you will post more of these ,Street-Art-Hunting' i would like to see more of this stuff! So i followed and resteemed, and i will wait for the next days. Stay Steemit! Cheers

Thank you! I'm really glad you enjoyed it. I think that tomorrow I may go out to look for more art.

Well, i will reply with another comment ;) Hope to see great stuff like here again!

Wow! Some people have mad talent. Keep up the posting.

Thanks for the resteem!

I just think street art is too cool not to resteem.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by FrontTowardEnemy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Like the Texas shirt in the last picture! If you ever have a chance to make it to Toronto they have an awesome street/alley with art everywhere.

Wow, These are really cool works of art. There is some of this type of thing in Tucson. It has its own vibe but the times I have went to Portland I haven't been able to really check it out. The first time It was raining nonstop and I got Chupacabra flu. The second time I had to just drive past on my way to Eugene.

Thanks!

Last weekend was some of our first nice weather this year. And this was my first attempt at hunting down murals in Portland. It's interesting to me how different cities have their own vibe, and how different styles emerge from different places.

Glad you liked the post.

Wow! Some of these are very cool!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14