I Used To Do StreetartsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #streetart7 years ago

Back in college, more than a decade ago, I used to dabble in streetart. I used to follow a few street artists in various blogs, mostly defunct now, like sprayblog and wooster collective. One of my favorite artists during that era was Swoon, and I was able to finally see her art in real life at Art Central in Hong Kong.

swoon.jpg

The documentary "Bomb It" though was the catalyst for me to start putting up my works on the streets.

My Street Art 2007-2010

DSC05292.JPG

DSC03902.jpg

DSCI0025.JPG

DSCI0191.JPG

DSCI0282.JPG

DSCI0284.JPG

DSCI0288.JPG

DSCI0665.JPG

After college I stopped putting up works as I was too busy as a full time instructor at our local University. Today I mostly appreciate it from afar. I've made friends within local streetart and graffiti scene and their works inspire me as I go commuting in the city. It was a fun chapter in my life and though I still enjoy making art, other things occupy my time. I might come back to it in the future, maybe when I'm old and gray.

*this post was inspired after seeing the streetart and graffiti here in steemit, shoutout to: @terty9photog.

Sort:  

Great article and photos.

I belive it totally OK to do this for a limited amount of time. It is a full time job putting up pieces, avoding police and renew your images/ theme.

After a while, like you say, you could pick it up again.

yeah man, hats off to all the artists still putting up works.

@feedroh got you a $1.57 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@feedroh got you a $1.57 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

These are some great arts!

You have got so much talent in you and feeling really inspiring to be able to see those arts.

If ever I roam those streets one day, I will definitely remember you! HAHA XD

thank you bro :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67333.38
ETH 3247.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65