You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I believe so strongly in Choon, and why it matters

in #streaming6 years ago (edited)

Hey there,

I really wish I could share your enthusiasm but I am afraid your calculations are a little "unrealistic" :-).

I also didn't really get the 60/40 part - can you point out where you got that information? I cannot find anything in the whitepaper about it?

One main thing I suggest we remember: Choon will always be paying us in Notes. And nobody knows what the price will be.

I like to compare this with Musicoin - they pay 1 MC per track streamed and that is worth aprox $0.0077 atm (https://coinmarketcap.com/currencies/musicoin/). If Spotify pays $0.01284 per stream they would have the far better deal ;-).

Btw. - just streaming Chapter 2 on Choon - thanks for that!!

Sort:  

Heyhey, thanks for reading mate!

I'll get right to it. I also wish that, so I'll hopefully be able to somewhat convince you =)

Unrealistic? Might seem so if you didn't fully understand the 60/40 (It can be complex, and it requires some context). I got it directly from Gareth when asking about it in the Telegram group quite some time ago. Was certain it was in the WP, but you're right, it's not. It is briefly mentioned on page 9 though: (Can be they haven't disclosed the exact % because they might change)

"NOTES from streaming packages will be distributed via a hybrid model that will allow users’
subscription fees to be directly funneled to the artists whom they actually listened to (which no legacy
streaming service currently does).
The Choon Platform will show users and fans how much of their contributions went to each supported
artist. We expect this will provide users a feel-good factor and a sense of gratication in helping the
smaller artists. Dedicated fan bases will develop loyalty for their artists and the platform.
This is in stark contrast to the present industry standard of parimutuel royalty systems, in which users’
monthly fees are dumped into huge distribution pools, where the fees are claimed primarily by the
largest artists (regardless of whether or not the users had actually listened to them)." ...

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66244.62
ETH 3320.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70