How Most of You Take Streamers For Granted

in #streaming5 years ago

Tell a friend to meet you at 3PM. Then don't show up. Don't let him know, just blow him off.
Now, blow them off five times every week, and show up twice. And keep asking them to show up.
Do you think they're going to want to meet up with you anymore? Hell, do you think they might be angry with you?
Or how about, show up, but don't say a word. Be there, and be attached to your phone, binging some shit or another, and not responding to any word they say. After 4 hours of ignoring them, ask them a question, which they will answer, and then stare at your phone and ignore them like they aren't there.

Now.. How is streaming any different? You ask me to show up and spend time streaming content for YOU. But mostly, there's an entire CROWD of people lurking, not one word to say. Not until they have a request. And then they vanish again, silent but consuming the video. They ask me to stream games X, Y and Z. They either don't show up, or they do and don't say a single word.

I don't fucking care how much you have donated. Or how high the "viewer counts" might be. Fact is, you're taking my time for granted. Streaming is not a business for me. Trust me, the vast majoirty of you don't pay what I'm worth. It's something I have done to spend time with friends. But frankly, the above listed behavior, it wouldn't fly with friends, it wouldn't fly with family, and it sure as fuck doesn't happen in the professional world.

So really, no matter how we look at it: You give me a great deal of incentive to not stream, but very little incentive to want to stream. So I stopped streaming.

The most common response is "I had shit to do, sorry I didn't update you, wife."

I had shit to do, too. But I chose to meet your request, and spend that time streaming, putting my own priorities behind what you asked of me. If you couldn't be present, you could've not asked, or stated "that'd be great, but I'm busy and may not be able to be there." If enough people were just simple and honest like this... I would have never come to resent streaming. Because I'd have known, okay, well only 9 people will show up today and most of them will be lurking. I'll just stream another time when conditions are better.

But nah, 24/7 request me to spend time on you. Request t meet up with me, and then don't show. or show up face glued to phone and pretend I'm not even there. I'll certainly want to keep respecting your requests after 8 years, 6 months and 21 days.

Not really. I decided enough was enough, and I quit.

Sort:  

A friend (who I have known for a very long time due to my former streams) told me that my rants are steemworthy. He tells me everyday.
So I took a rant I typed to a few people who were complaining that I expected too much, copied it letter for letter (typo for typo) and posted it here.
If you guys want more rants, ask. But just as the above states, don't ask if you aren't gonna show. I've learned to get sick of that real quick. Call it my 10,000th trick.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56784.71
ETH 2392.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27