With all that's been happening on #Twitch as of late...

in #streaming5 years ago

With all that's been happening on #Twitch as of late, I'm glad that I decided to suspend #streaming until September, as things are really starting to escalate with regards to them! I'm not quite in a position where I can leave the platform, but I am looking at offloading my Sunday streams (when they finally start) to #DLive instead (although I'd be using #Restream to push to #Mixer, #YouTube, #Smashcast, and perhaps #VK), though I'd be keeping my weekly streams on Twitch for the time being, as unfortunately, due to being an affiliate, Twitch is the only chance I currently have to make any money, plus I don't have a following large enough to consider fully moving to another platform (or more) right now.

That said, however, what may end up happening, when I have all 4 of my streaming slots engaged is that I'll move another of the 3 remaining to DLive, et al and have half and half. Either way, I'll be making sure that I have backed up every stream I do on any platform I stream on. Additionally, I want to start rolling out things on Steepshot as well, concurrent with Instagram (and Twitter & Tumblr via other means), so I have a backup/secondary repository to upload my pics, plus also give me the potential to earn some Steem for my photos, seeing as I need to work on a sustainability strategy moving forward, so I'm able to upgrade my setup, as well as allowing me to be more ambitious with projects, as well as simply being able to live.

Of course, being able to make a living out of this is some time away, but equally, if I don't start planning stuff out, it's not going to happen. Of course, on the flip side of that, I'm not particularly motivated by money, except for when it comes to covering my subsistence costs, as well as being able to actually buy stuff to do videos on, as well as improving the quality of my streams and videos. Most content creators and streamers are the same really, as they'd like to devote more time to their communities, etc, and again, it's not about the money, it's just about having the ability to do that sustainably.

In any case, going back to Twitch, etc, I do think that there's likely going to be a larger shift away from Twitch and YouTube, as well as more of a shift to "alternative" platforms, such as DLive, and Mixer, as well as the others out there, such as Smashcast, #Vimm, #DTube, and others that escape me right now, because things are starting to move more towards the smaller streaming platforms, as opposed to the ones that are dominated by #Amazon and #Google; granted, Mixer is Microsoft's streaming platform, but I have a feeling that they're not going to throw things around like Amazon and Google are.

Unfortunately though, even if I can remove myself successfully from Twitch down the line, YouTube is going to be a lot trickier, seeing as there's not yet anything comparable to YouTube out on the market (even considering the likes of DTube, #LBRY, and others), and the only platform that could have challenged YouTube (the name of which I've sadly forgotten) essentially ceased operations within the last couple of years. That said though, I do imagine that P2P video upload sites may eventually overtake YouTube as well, but it will take a while!

#stormkeepergu

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.72
ETH 2683.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80