Updates and stuff

in #streaming4 years ago

I'm pretty annoyed that I've had to write off an entire day pretty much because my internet was knocked out, so I was unable to do certain things earlier on!
On the plus side, I've now at least picked up BerryBoot, and PINN, so if nothing else, I can at least install them onto my Micro SD cards for my Raspberry Pi projects (even if I'm knocked offline!), as moving forward, multiboot or not, I probably should have BerryBoot on every SD card, just to make things easier and more universal, especially if I want to experiment to see which OS is the best one for me to use for certain projects, seeing as I'm wanting to try out DietPi and Raspbian Lite to see if they'll still work for stuff I've planned, such as servers, cryptocurrency projects, robots, and other things I'll talk about in some videos later, if not via a blog post.

I have a few projects in mind, such as using DreamPi, though I'm waiting for some capacitors and resistors, seeing as I have the 9V battery holders, though I've yet to get the 9V batteries, or a charger, as I'm trying to use rechargeable batteries where possible, as it's better for the environment. In any case, this month will probably be a month where I start moving in the direction I want to move regarding content creation and streaming, and to this end, I'm officially announcing that I'll be aiming to play Command & Conquer Remastered on Friday, though I'll either be doing some Isaac or Barony for the first hour, if not another starter game, depending on what is installed on my Windows partition, as I have to use that to play it, as it's the only partition with enough space on it right now.

As for my PC upgrades, I have plans to eventually do those, though I'm currently limiting it to my CPU, wireless card (the new one also has Bluetooth, as well as being WiFi 6/802.11ax, so plenty of future-proofing!), and possibly the USB 3.0 PCI Express card, though I may get a second one to use with the new motherboard instead; I'm holding fire on the GPU right now, as there may end up being some price decreases over the next few weeks or so, which would help bring my upgrade costs down! I have another of the wireless cards arriving in the next couple of months, seeing as the subscription to get a second one works out slightly cheaper for both than if I bought one now, then one later, plus I want my 2 systems to have the same capabilities. Although that said, the card I have in my current PC is no longer available, which is a shame, as it's a solid card. However, there is a similar card that has 3x USB 3.0 ports and 2x USB-C ports, vs the 4 USB 3.0 and 1x USB-C ports my current one has, although arguably, USB-C is becoming more in demand anyway, plus my new board has 4x rear USB 3.0 ports, but the funny thing is that USB-C only cards are more expensive!

Really, I should be looking at USB 3.1, but I think that is more of a consideration for a future build, especially considering the cards are a bit pricey, plus I probably won't be making the best use of it anyway for now, so I'll stick with the 3/2 card instead, although what the card does is make use of the connectors on the board, so rather than adding extra ports, it's allowing me to use the ports I have. In any case, I'm getting to the point where I'll soon be able to work on my new motherboard. I am considering just leaving my BD writer with my current rig, as I hardly use it at present anyway, though I do need it for legacy purposes, and given that this PC will eventually be become a secondary one, it make sense to offload the lesser-used (but still needed) hardware onto it, as I'll still have it to hand, and really optical media is on the way out in many cases, so I'd say that having a BD reader is enough for a main PC anyway.

I probably also could use my secondary PC for video editing, but equally, the hardware isn't fully up to snuff to that task, at least till I put a 1660 Ti in it at least, and maybe upgrade the RAM to 32GB from 24GB, but that latter thing may not be necessary. In any case, I've maxed out the RAM on the new board, and have plans to eventually pick up an RTX 2060 Super, seeing as that's probably the optimal balance between price and also hardware that will be relatively in line with my new system, although it will first be used with my current rig to see how things work with it. The 1050 Ti will eventually go to my i5-650 as a lower TDP alternative to the HD 5770 card I have knocking about somewhere, although ideally, I want to try getting it to work with Windows XP, though that'll be a tricky thing to do. In any case, the 1660 Ti is the eventual GPU that this rig will be using after I get my new motherboard up and running and of course fixed! With regards to that, I was very lucky that only the last 2 (of 4) RAM slots are causing issues right now due to the bent pins, as it could have been much worse!

In any case, at the rate things are going, I may end up either streaming the repair or recording it as a video thing, given the fact that I've not been in the right place mentally or physically to carry out such a delicate task, although at least now I have all the tools I need to make it happen, which was an issue in the past. Either way, my first plan after I'm better organised is to upgrade my current PC and eventually in the relatively near future sort out the pins for the CPU socket in my new board, seeing as I don't need to wait to get the i7 CPU to fix that. In any case, component-wise I've everything I need to build the PC apart from a case, and the CPU, though I want to move my current rig into a new case as well, as the current one I'm using sucks. I probably should also consider a new PSU for the newish board too, if only because the current PSU is in use with my current rig, and I think I may need a slightly better PSU than the one I have, but we'll see what happens.

In any case, that's it for now, I need to get some rest and sort out some stuff. I'll give more updates regarding the stream on Friday over the next couple of days via social media, so look out for that.

Until then, take care and catch you all later on.

#stormkeepergu #raspberrypi #pcgaming #streaming #pchardware #pcupgrades

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63740.26
ETH 2618.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79