Why I Stopped Watching TV and Moved on to Online ContentsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #streaming6 years ago

Summary

I mention why I watch online content over TV. This was originally a blog post I wrote on a personal Blogger blog. I moved it to Steemit for better visibility.

Introduction

This article will describe my reasons for why I stopped watching TV. I will explain why I switched
to viewing entertainment content on other platforms. I will also explain why I picked up other hobbies.

I Found Other Hobbies

There are other things I enjoy much more. For a while, I was much more into playing video games. I still am a huge video game fan but not as much. I also like reading more these days. I love to find and save articles to read in my periods of downtime. Watching TV started to no longer be my main hobby.

Movies Have Little Appeal

I am not a huge fan of watching movies. I love watching animation and science fiction, but that is about it. I only watch movies when I have a lot of interest in them.

Not a Sports Fan

I have never been a fan of any sport. I know, crazy right? So to me, TV has little appeal there. I know some people cannot miss big games and spend good money on packages and ways to view this content. I much self much rather enjoy an esports tournament. I can watch esports for free. Don't think because esports is about video games that means the production value is low. The big tournaments have great production value. Of course, esports is not for everybody. I love content about video games in general. Watching esports or poker is as close to a sports fan I will ever be.

I Love User Created Online Content

I tend to favor content based on video games and movie reviews. I love watching user-created online video websites over traditional TV. Traditional TV does not cover video games much out of a few niche channels or huge stories and events. You are not going to see content like Let’s Plays and very personal game reviews on TV. I love video game
content, and I watch videos on websites like Youtube, Twitch, Dtube, Dlive, ETC.

I Love Video Game Streaming for the Same Reasons

I follow streamers that play video games I like. I also sometimes watch events like esports tournaments and speed runs and such. It is fun for me to watch others play games I like. I like to see what other people do differently and talk to streamers and their chat. Twitch is a great example of an online streaming platform. I watch it often.

Finding Good Content Takes Some Time

The biggest issue I have found is finding the content that I like. After all, anybody can make a video or start streaming. Find the type of content you want to watch. Do some research into content creators that make what you want.

Other Possible Negatives

I admit I sacrifice visual quality with user-created videos. I prefer finding personalities I like the most. As long as the content is something I enjoy I am OK with it not looking the most amazing. YouTube and Twitch have stigmas for having terrible communities. Some content creators do not upload videos very often. Too little new content to watch can be annoying if you like somebody's channel.

Why I Sometimes Watch TV Online

I use streaming services to catch up TV on shows. I hate waiting for new episodes of a TV show to release. I know some people love to follow shows and talk with friends and family about the latest episodes. I do not need to do this. I much rather wait for a show to be complete and then watch it. I paid for several months of online streaming in the past. I am open to considering using online streaming in the future.

Conclusion

My TV watching strategy is to use online streaming to binge watch seasons of old shows. Watch user-created content and video game streams. What kind of video content do you like to watch?

My picture for Steemit posts

My Other Online Writing

If you have a chance check out some of my other online writing. You can check out other posts on my Steemit blog or read one of my HubPages articles.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66892.02
ETH 3513.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67