My New Guitar, What I've been up to and my triumphant return to my life long dream.

in #storytime6 years ago

Hey everybody, Long time.

In my absence from Steemit due to unforeseen life things occurring, I started playing guitar again; Not many people know that one of my lifelong dreams has been to write and record my own music and share it with people, and for a long time I was unable to do this, but this isn't a story about the things I couldn't do, it is a story about the things I am doing now.

After my breakup, I didn't have much to do with the free time I had, but what I did have was the old acoustic guitar I had been given as a gift back when I was 12 years old, and I began relearning what I hadn't practiced in upwards of 2 years. the going was rough but the more I played, the better I saw myself becoming, and being in an environment with my brother who is also a musician nurtured the growing seed of creativity that was growing inside of my soul. As I was saying, I began playing again and quickly became better than I was before because of how much time I had been
dedicating to the music, and songs began to form.

IMG-20171215-WA0002.jpg

I quickly began looking for an electric guitar that suited the needs I had, and the guitar I found after about a month of searching, just so happened to be the guitar I had been fantasizing about for the last 8 years: The Ibanez Agr73t, I have named her Annabelle!

IMG-20171213-WA0005.jpg

After about a week of fiddling with her, I was finally ready to start looking for members for a band. Now the town I live in isn't very big, and musicians willing to write their own stuff are hard to come by, but by sheer luck, or connections in the small scene we have here, I found another guitarist and a vocalist, Brendon and Aurora respectively; 2 of the most accomplished musicians in this town, and we began writing. We are planning to have an EP out by the end of March and start doing shows in the cities fairly soon.

After meeting Brendon for the first time, he invited me to join the side group he had formed that did cover songs for local bars and coffee shops in and around Newcastle, this time it happened to be the coffee shop: Artisans Cafe,
as I hadn't done any shows in front of a crowd since about 2011/2012 I was understandably nervous. I had been given 8 songs to learn in the 2 weeks leading up to the show, songs that included Everlong by the Foo Fighters to Dani California by The Red Hot Chili Peppers. Some songs were easier to learn than others obviously, but by the time the show came along, The time I had put into preparing had gone a long way and I was able to play my songs without any problem.
There were close to 70 people at the show and we ended up getting an encore to do one of the songs I did a second time (Aint no sunshine by Bill Withers) So I would call that show a success

Lastly, what I have been up to these last few months.
I recently moved into a house with my brother and another friend of ours, We have made space for a rehearsal space for the band and have begun setting up a proper recording studio room. The plan is to have a live invite only gig once the EP is released at the house once the space is set up correctly.

Thank you for reading and just know that once I release any music Steemit will be one of the places I put it.
You'll be hearing from me soon!
Enjoy some more pictures of Annabelle!

IMG-20171215-WA0012.jpg
IMG-20171215-WA0013.jpg
IMG-20171215-WA0014.jpg
IMG-20171215-WA0015.jpg
IMG-20171215-WA0016.jpg
IMG-20171215-WA0017.jpg

Sort:  

Pretty nice guitar. Hollow body, i fantasize much about this guitar too.

Congratulations @thatguyjono! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64921.79
ETH 3541.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36