The Beginning of a Wonderful Adventure aka my introduction.

in #storytelling7 years ago

I write, I read, I learn and then I write some more.

When I first learned about Steemit I fell in love with the premise of a social media site that gives something back to the users who supply its content. It was an idea I’d only heard floated in the past, and I was so glad to see it come to fruition. At the same time I’ve been thinking of starting a blog for years and this seems like the perfect platform for it.

My intention is to write about a variety of topics but two particular passions of mine will undoubtedly be among the most common.

My first great passion is storytelling. I love fiction, legend, myth, and narrative and always have. I create my own fiction in the form of prose and films. My last short film, 9 Realms: The Scourge of Hell, was an official selection of the Philly TV Fest, a Semi-Finalist in LA Cinefest and won best Fantasy Film at the Celtic Mystery Film Festival in Edinburgh Scotland. My short story “Mercy Park” has been published in Perihelion Magazine and will be republished in an upcoming edition of "The Digital Science Fiction Anthology" series. Having said that I probably won’t be sharing my own fiction writing here but will rather write about stories from every medium and genre. I love to analyze stories whether it’s an ancient myth or the latest series to binge on Netflix. Narrative has a certain power over the human psyche. Mankind seems to have an inherent need for storytelling that defies description or explanation.

My second great passion is history. I say second because it was really my love of stories, which lead to my love of history, for what is history if not the most grand and intricate story on Earth. What's more I've come to know that much of what we call history is actually fiction, but even the fictions of the past unveil deeper truths. I’m currently pursuing a Masters degree in Archaeology at Yale. Though I dabble in many topics my main focus is on the history of Rome. The shear volume of written accounts that survive from Roman history are daunting, and for each there are countless interpretations. In many ways I see the Roman civilization as a sort of funhouse mirror of our own society. So many elements of modern times existed two millennia ago but in distorted and unfamiliar forms. I believe that hidden within these accounts of the past are important lessons that provide vital insights into our present and future. Without these insights we are incapable of truly understanding the time we live in or actively guiding the course of our own society towards an equitable future.

I look forward to sharing my knowledge, perspectives and interpretations with all of you as well as learning from fellow Steemit contributors. I'd like to thank the creators for building this innovative platform and I'd like to thank in advance everyone I'll be meeting and interacting with.

unnamed-2.jpg

Together we will make this a wonderful adventure.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! Thanks for your comments on my Contact posts. Up-voted and followed, though I'll be avoiding the Black Mirror posts until I get caught up.

Some friends of mine wrote a CoC sourcebook for 1st century Rome.
https://www.chaosium.com/invictus/

Cool. I never got to play CoC but always wanted to. Antiquity should go along very nicely with it. I think Lovecrafts' creatures were inspired at least partially by monsters like Scylla, Charybdis, Leviathan and the hydra.

It's a very popular game at conventions, should you find yourself at one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58034.65
ETH 2448.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38