The Down Pour

in #storyfromphoto7 years ago (edited)

U5dtPnmiCVcaS9fW65nrAq3Lc6igggU_1680x8400 (1).jpeg

At times, I stop to wonder how lucky we are here in Nigeria and sometimes I feel hurt when somethings happen. I admit we don't have earthquakes, hurricane, tsunami over here which makes our country a lucky one but we have some destructive rain.

Thinking of what to post wasn't really hard after staring at the droplets in the photo above. It was just like a flashback and I remember a few years ago...

Hello there, how are you doing? This is me saying hi to my neighbor on my way to church that very morning - a Sunday. We were enjoying the service and I was playing the piano when this rain started.

Of course, it's normal for the rain to fall and even if it wasn't, did I have a choice? I wasn't worried or lemme say I chose not to be worried as it's normal for the rain to fall. No-one knew the rain was beginning to cause havoc in the community. We all just continued with the service until we were done.

Service had finished and just now we knew what was happening - the rain had been continuous and it was already gaining some heights. Most members quickly fashioned out a way to go to their homes but as for me, my house wasn't far so I was just waiting for a slight drop in the intensity of the rain so I could go home...

lekki-1062x598.jpg

...and yes! I had it. The intensity dropped and I think it lasted for about 20 minutes before it became heavy again. The rain shut some people out and the others in. My brother had to remain with his friends and I had to remain indoors with the rest of the family until it was about 6:24 pm, I remember.

But by then, this was what we saw.
flood-menace.jpg and from the picture I got from a friend I saw that the rain actually took away some cows from their owner. I don't have the picture on my phone because this incident happened on the 10th day of July, 2011 but I dropped the below image I found on my sister's laptop, it was taken a few hours after the rain eventually stopped and the waters were already going back down. I really didn't remember to tell you that the rain actually entered into some homes, destroyed their appliances, broke down some electrical poles, covered up some cars maybe because we(I and my family) weren't really affected. Our house had a nice drainage system, a raised entrance, and a slightly sloppy ground to ensure water doesn't stay around during rainy season so we only saw things happening outside and not to us. But I can say it wasn't a sweet experience..

image

A very big thank you to @gamer00 for this contest. This might be considered a late entry but am sorry it happened to be late.

This is the entry for @pearlumie on the @perlo account.

Sort:  

verynice photography

Very good! Personal experiences often make for exceptionally good stories. :)

I am however a bit on the fence about the last photo. Using photos other than your own was against the rules... Maybe if you had 3 photos of your own. Just saying. Anyway, I was quick to upvote it. Eh... It is a good story, but I am hesitant as far as prizes go.

Well, we'll see when the day is over. I will be making a review post on all the submissions later.

Only the picture of the cows is not mine...
Let me put another picture then...

I've edited the post..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59239.68
ETH 2525.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50