You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Personal Thoughts on "Spider-Man: Homecoming"

in #story7 years ago

As always, I agree completely. This section is pretty much what I thought after watching the movie:

The heavy emphasis on character and social relationships. Some may even say at the expense of the actual core “superhero element”. In that, I mean to say that if one expects an all-out action fest that we are so used to seeing from previous versions of “Spider-man”, some may walk out sorely disappointed. I, however, welcome the change in direction.

Keeping in mind that I've been one of the few people in the world who actually liked the Amazing Spiderman franchise (I thought Andrew Garfield was a brilliant choice for the character), I have to say I appreciated this change of pace too. I like how Peter's never taken seriously and he has to sweat due to his age and his inexperience.

I also liked his relationship with his best friend (who of course, is a huge teenage nerd with the skills of an NSA analyst), who'd wish that his friend being a superhero could be the turning point of their social life in college, and gets disappointed when Peter keeps the whole thing to himself.

As always thanks for these reviews Ezzy, I'm learning a lot from your style, and you always make some very good points.

Sort:  

Hey there, @ziofeda! Looks like we have pretty much "twin" perspectives on this.

I also liked his relationship with his best friend (who of course, is a huge teenage nerd with the skills of an NSA analyst), who'd wish that his friend being a superhero could be the turning point of their social life in college, and gets disappointed when Peter keeps the whole thing to himself.

I really like this statement and couldn't agree more on it. The awe he felt at having a secret superhero as a friend was just as impactful as what Peter Parker was going through himself. But you had to "look for it" if you know what I mean. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61726.97
ETH 2392.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60