Against The Odds - An Original True Story - Running for Charity After a Vicious Attack

in #story6 years ago

IMAG0211.jpg

The mountains are sacred places

When life gets in the way every so often and I can't get to run the hills for 2 or 3 days.
I find the mountains call me back to them, they become more seductive and alluring, they have got into my heart and soul you see. I have ran the mountains in all sorts of weather, when the winds have been gale force and the rain lashing down. When the hail stones cut into your face.
I have ran for my life in an unexpected snow blizzard experiancing total white out.
I have witnessed beautiful dawns and glorious sunsets.
You see it is the sheer effort it takes to get there and then when you do and your standing there and you see the outstanding artwork in nature, something happens it changes you.

IMAG0268.jpg

Once the decision had been made to run the full circle of 10 mountains, starting and finishing at Lough Dan, Co Wicklow, Ireland.
I made contact with Liz Roche from Saint Vincent De Paul a charity in Ireland that helps in countless ways, people that are struggling and told her about our plan, she was very supportive and enthusiastic.
The date was set for the 5th May 2009.
At this stage we still had'nt ran all the mountains and were not 100% sure we could even do it!

So once a week in between our own personal training we would meet up and pick off the mountains section by section.
If we were going to run from Cairrigshouk to Cairrigvore, taking in the East Top,Mullaghcleevaun, Duff Hill and Gravale as well.
We would park the cars at Cairrigvore and Cairrigshouk car park, etc.
Soon we had ran all the mountains on the route at different intervals, now all we had to do was increase fitness,
watch our diet and pray the fog would not be down on the day.


To do such a endurance run, one has to prepare on all levels,

Mental, you need time to take in the vastness of the task and all the emotions that rise with that decision.
Physical, time is needed to get fitter and to fuel your body and eat appropiately, to generate the energy required to complete.
Spiritual, well that is deeply personal and individual and very much a vital part of it all.

It was always going to be some challenge, Leo is 52, I am 44.
On 4th May 1.30am I was attacked and badly beaten in a taxi incedent, by an out of control passenger.
Who I later learned was an MMA cage fighter 16 years my junior!
When he kicked he kicked fast and hard with 6/7 kicks in rapid succession,systematically targeting various parts of the body.
When he punched, he did so with the same style and ferocity.
The worst damage was to my right leg, inner thigh knee area. Was limping as a result and could not bend my knee
without being in severe pain.
Was lying in bed that night wondering how was I going to do the run now.

 Star man.jpg
I said to myself there is No Way, he is going to stop me from doing this .
Did'nt sleep that night!

Leo was brilliant, he came round around midday with some cream to help with the swelling and ignoring all my protests, insisted he bring me to the hospital.
The doctor a big tall good humoured Nigerian man that reminded me of Cassius Clay, gave me anti inflammatorys and painkillers.
They worked a treat. Definately know now would not have been able to do the run without them.

So the big day finally came, slept well but woke up exhausted, feeling that extra special tiredness that comes with a shock.
Had a big bowl of porridge and a double dose of painkillers.
Leo and his wife arrived and took a spare pair of clothes and socks with her, she was to meet us later that day at Cairrigvore car park, the crossing point for the final last two mountains on the trail.

The weather was great there was no fog.
We headed for Loughdan in my car, parked as close to it as the road would allow and we walked down.
We were both happy the time had come.

IMAG3251.jpg

We did our warm up stretches, went down to the inchavore river edge took a photo of ourselves set the watch and took off, heading for Scarr.

To do a run like this knowing before hand it may take 8-10 hrs.
For me it means that you start off real slow, gently ease your muscles into it while getting your breathing right.
Then you just let your muscles do the work, the run becomes more of a meditation, because you are actually focusing on
holding back all the time and not putting any extra energy into it.
You are also contantly looking out for the handiest trail to take, keeping a eye on the what the clouds are doing. while taking in the beauty all around you .
On each mountain peak the effort it takes to get there is always rewarded by the spectacular views you see.IMAG3013.jpg

The terrain varies from wet grass to heather, to rock and stoney sections, peat bog and green swamps where you can sink up to your knees into the earth.

From Loughdan to Scarr the ascent was slow, down and over to Kanturk or Brown mountain is handy enough as there is a
good track most of the way, the highest part of Kanturk is closer to the Scarr side, but we went over to this Gigantic circular rock that is closer to L. Dan as its a good land mark.

 Leo at Kanturk.jpg

Then we backtracked and headed over the open plane to Cairrigshouk. The terrain along the way consists of thick clumps of grass which you have to try and run between, closer to the forestry near the military road you have a swampy peat section.
We got to the road and Leo had stashed water for us so we had our first helping of energy gels and water.

Headed up Cairrigshouk, there are walkers trails leading up all of the way it is a relatively small mountain to run but very steep it demands you take your time, to push it at this early stage,would risk losing valuable energy resource.

We got to the top and headed down and up for Mullaghcleevaun East Top. The wind was blowing south westerly so it was right in our faces.

 Me at East top.jpg

We were now heading into the wildest, more remote part of the run. The week before I had marked the easiest trails
route to take for the next 5 peaks. Mainly in case of fog.
So following the walkers trails and heading for the markers we soldiered on, this I found to be the hardest part of the run.
I was suddenly starving and I felt totally zapped of energy, lightheaded and weak.
I thought we would never get to the top. Asked for help from above as for a while was'nt sure I could make it.
When we got to the top Leo also admitted he too had found it really hard.

We headed down and over to Mullaghcleevaun, there is a large patch of peat to go through before the hill to the summit.
We could'nt get there fast enough as there was sports energy drinks to take. we had stashed them under one of the memorial rocks, the week before.
Mullaghcleevaun is such a special place there is a atmosphere there that is ancient magical and hard to describe.

 Mullaghcleevaun.jpg

We had more gels and half the bottle of life giving energy and headed back through the peat and up the hill to the East Top. To save time just this once we did'nt go look at Cleevaun Loch. At this point I was starting to get my energy back.

The next 3 mountains are tough in the sense that they are full of peat bogs and hags that you have to run up and over and around them. You can sink very deep in places and they take alot from you, personally it is my favourite terrain.

 spirits of the land.jpg

So the peat hags on the descent of the East top, heather tracks on ascent of Duff Hill, over to Gravale where just before the steep ascent we had more gels and high energy drink.
There is a really good track leading up Gravale and a large rock and gravel stoney patch leading to the top. Was starting to feel really loaded with energy now but was feeling signs of pain in my leg and remembered that I had forgotten my painkillers!

Over the top of Gravale there are some seriously deep bog and swamp sections, then the mountain curls around in a slanted s shape leading to Cairrigvore.

 bog terrain.jpg

We got to the top of Cairrigvore and Leo rang his wife to let her know we would'nt be too long, she was waiting in the carpark with my friend Berry who had agreed to take take some photos and Liz from SVP and her fiancee from 53 degrees north, who very generously had a supply of energy bars and drinks waiting for us.
On top of Cairrigvore you are closer to the Djouce side the wind was very strong there,
so by heading in the direction of the left shoulder of Luggala it leads eventually to a walkers trail that leads straight to the carpark.

To see the figures in the distance, knowing they were there to support us was a great buzz.
And there were only two more mountains to run! The terrain down the mountain is tufts of grass, occasionaly we would have to jump over 4ft trenches, my knee was really starting to hurt again.
The figures got closer and closer, soon they were only 40ft away ,was running well and spotted a tiny
pool of green swamp and thought I will go through it, sure it will only be up to my knees.
Went through it and disappeared up to my neck in it!
We all had a good laugh.

I was amazed at Liz, her reaction to us was great she was really delighted we had made it so far.
The bars and drinks went down a treat and just as we started to get undressed and changed a car load of girls pulls in!
The clouds were getting darker and the wind was picking up so we said our goodbyes and headed off again.
Leos wife Gillian and Berry were to meet us at Loughdan.

I took off fast and soon realized the painkillers had totally worn off.
The ascent up Luggala was really painful for me, when we got to the top my phone had packed in due to the little swim.
so we used Leos phone for the last few photos.

 Luggala:lough Tay.jpg
The descent of Luggala was absolute agony I was operating on one leg I was hobbling down the mountain.
I kept telling Leo to go on ahead to make a better time for himself, but he would'nt listen.

Eventually got to the bottom of Luggala and we had to cross Cloghogue brook.
I stuck my knee into it for a few minutes and am convinced it really helped with the steep ascent.

IMAG3232.jpg
Was limping most of the way up running only alittle here and there and on the ridge.
Got to the top and it was blowing a gale, sat down and waited for Leo.
From the top of Knocknacloghogue, thats where you can see the full circle of mountains in all their glory.
It was a wonderful auspicious moment reaching this last mighty peak.

 Knocknaclogogue with scarr in background.jpg

We were really eager to get to Loughdan now.
But we had to get down, down to the waters edge to the comfort of friends, family and warm clothes.
Again the descent was close to unbearable I held us up bigtime but eventually we got there and crossing the finish line,
the Inchavore river was a very, very happy moment.

Excluding all stops we did it in 8hrs 45mins.

We got changed again and just as we were getting undressed a Jeep came down the hill towards us.
By the time we were fully dressed the jeep came back and the couple inside gave us all a lift up the hill to our cars.
They were heaven sent.

We went to the Roundwood Inn and the barman gave us all free coffees and kitkats.

Overtime when I think of that day, the happiness that profound feeling the joy that warm feeling and glow are still with me to this day.
Leo told me last week that unlike any marathon he has done there was no major come down off this run, that he
was still on a high from it.
I think it has something to do with the mountains themselves, their different personalities the fresh air the spectacular views and the fact that it was a full circle of mountains.
I think thats what made it extra special.

Lee MacRealt 28th May 2009
All photos taken from my M7 phone
The video enclosed has the original photos of the training for and the event itself.
Nowadays I would not dream of using gels on a run, instead raw chocolate and fruit I highly recommend!
Over a 1000 euros was raised from the people I picked up in the taxi and after the attack was highlighted and people read this account, another thousand was made for SVP.

Sort:  

You capture this so well I feel I walked with you on this journey! There were so many on our curation team that wanted to present this post. Job well done, huge fan!

I am truly delighted kubbyelizabeth !
So to you and to all the team last night a big, big thanks!
For Everything, the kind words, the great recital, the resteem, the huge support.
WoW.....

Hey @zincali I am a curator from the new Whaleshares Curation Team. I have selected your post to be presented in a live curation discussion on Monday 27th November. Your post will be awarded with a 25 Whaleshares vote on the night. I do hope you can come along and spectate. The event will be held in The Curation Lounge on the Whaleshares server. Hope to see you there! Here's a post which explains things: https://steemit.com/steemit/@nikflossus/3wgmg9-the-whaleshares-curation-distribution-monday-23-59-london-time

Hi niklossus, this is fantastic news , thank you so much!!
Yes I shall definitely tune in for this.
I am totally blown away as this is so unexpected.

My pleasure. What a post! It reminded me of what they say about the Irish; 'Closer to God'...

You are such a gent nikflossus, great to meet you here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00