Steemit Story Slam Challenge 1 : Fear

in #story8 years ago

I closed my eyes as tight as I could. I thought if I couldn't see I could convince myself that it wasn't happening.
But I couldn't.
I had to look. The same way you have to look at a car accident.
I opened one eye, then the other. I didn't want to see it, but I also couldn't look away.
I felt the hairs on the back of my neck stand up. My heart felt like it was going to burst out of my chest. I was so sure that he could hear it. The beats of my heart. The hard breath I had to take when I realised that I was holding mine in for so long that my lungs were hurting.
Think. Try to think about what you are doing.
Stop. Try to stop him. You must. It's the only way.

"It's too late, just open your eyes!" This voice sounded different. There was a hint of excitement. Excitement or fear, what was the difference? The symptoms are the same, my body was primed for action. The adrenaline that courses through your body when you’re scared is the same adrenaline that courses through your body when you’re excited. An elevated heart rate and dilated pupils keep your body ready to see what’s going on and then move - it's only your perception that changes.

That's what was happening. I looked down at my hands, my knuckles were white from being clenched so tight.
"Let go, its time."
I released my grip, I felt the warm blood pumping back into my fingers. They started to tingle.

I stepped off the ledge...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57500.86
ETH 2337.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36