Self-made. Ep 5

in #story5 years ago


image source

As soon as Enyibe turned his back on me, still believing that I was foolish. I went outside the compound and called in Nnenna and her two friends. Even though I would not leave our house and goats because of Onye Ara, I was not really as strong as I sounded to Enyibe.

Nnenna came inside the compound showing her disappointment on her face. She grumbled as she washed the mud from her hands and feet. While we waited for the goats to return, I kept my ears alert for the slightest sound of Onye Ara. He usually announced his presence with a loud song, a rather meaningless song. Or maybe a song that made sense only to a mad man. I remember our teacher once said that mad people usually thought of sane people as being mad.

Soon Nnenna cheered up again. She was the youngest in the family, and although she was now my immediate younger sister, two boys had been born by my father before Nnenna but they had both died. She was too young to care about Onye Ara and kept playing pranks with her two mates, dirtying her hands once more.

To be continued.

This post is original and it was imported from whaleshares, and posted on weku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77