NEVER REVEAL YOUR SECRET #1

in #story6 years ago

My Mother told me a story long ago that i could still remember every word clearly. She was telling me how little i should trust in friends.

She made me swear to her that under no circumstances should i ever trust anyone who claims to be my friend. I remember i was just coming back from the school, my elder sister who had been taking care of mama had called on me. Fola, mama wants to talk to you right away she said. Mama's condition had deteriorated over the past few days he had kept cursing mama Lobore, my step mum. I quickly dropped my school bag and hurriedly ran into the room; my heart had skipped. I thought something worse had happened, but mama was still lying on the bed, her eyes opened with a warm smile as she saw me approached the bed.

“my son,” she began trying to control the tears that threatened to overflow her eyes. she sighed before continuing, “I want to talk to you and your sister”. my sister had already entered the room “Mama”, she had began, “let me prepare the pap and then you can have enough strength.” she had suggested. “Alima,” she called her by her pet name,” you will have plenty of time to prepare me pap, but come and listen to what i have to say first.”

“My children,” the cat was the finest wrestler he was the most powerful wrestler in the kingdom far and near. He had wrestled all animals; big, small, ferocious, dangerous, and all manner. from the elephant to the mouse and he had won. however, he had a friend, he cunning tortoise. they were childhood friends and they loved each other so much. the tortoise was present at every wrestling contest of the cat. he share in the glory of his friend and bothers, and anyone describing the tortoise will refer to him as the brother of the champion.

image source
So one fine day, after a wrestling contest between the cat and the tiger, they were both celebrating their victory in the cat's hut with palmwine and bushmeat when the fox came in. "Greetings to the champion of the land,” he greeted the cat and looking at the tortoise in a manner that had made him feel like a slave, “and to the brother of the champion,” he added and burst out laughing the tortoise was angry and the car sensing the tense atmosphere asked, “what do you seek my friend?” “Well, I came to challenge you to a wrestling duel?” he said. pride swallowing every word he had uttered. “Very well then, next market day we shall meet at the arena,” he returned. “And that day, I shall strip you of your title as the champion,” added the fox. “you wish!” countered the tortoise. “Did the hunch back just say something?” teased the fox.

That is it,” said the tortoise who was posed to attach the fox, “you will have what is coming to you.” He said and he rushed towards the fox, who swiftly carried him with one hand and knocked him hard on the ground before the cat could intervene.

“Stop this madness,” meowed the cat. “He asked for it,” said the fox who walked towards the path that leads to the road, “next time he does that i will break him into tiny pieces that even Umahai, the powerful herbalist cannot form him back to whole.” He hissed and left. The cat helped the tortoise on his fee and he was feeling pain all over his back and short legs. The tortoise sat down very angry at what had just happened; he was totally embarrassed. “My brother…” began the cat before tortoise cuts in sharply. “….don't call me your brother what do you care that i had just been embarrassed by the fox,” he spat out angrily. “My brother, i never meant for any of this to happen,” replied the cat innocently, “if only you have taught me how to defend myself this idiot will never have the effrontery to hit me on the ground like a log of wood.” said the tortoise.

The cat was lost in a thinking mood. In times past, the tortoise had persuaded the cat to tell him the secret of his winning in every contest, but the cat had told him no. He was still lost in thought when he heard the tortoise say, “And we call ourselves brothers, when we can't even share secret amongst ourselves, go ahead and be the champion of the world and let your brother suffer in the hands losers who even the fly can beat with its eyes close,” he said as he walked away.

The cat had been touched by what the tortoise said and as he saw the tortoise go away he called to him. “Brother tomorrow meet at eke river before the third cock crow and i shall teach you my secret,” said the cat. The tortoise turned around not believing what he had just heard “Really!” he asked surprised. “yes,” answered the cat, “don't be angry with me come back and let's make merry for tomorrow you will join the league of true champions.” The tortoise crawled back and sat down while the cat went into the hut to bring more palm wine.

Sort:  

Is this a story from your life? I don't think so. Stop it. Steemit is a place for quality, original work. You will not be curated if you continue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66137.20
ETH 3543.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56