Boss or No Boss.

in #story6 years ago

This is unofficially my most stressed up week, I had ran non stop 48 hours shift on site to get more work done and the most annoying thing is, I and my boss are working on the same deadline but the Guy as we often refer to him at work has done nothing whatsoever to impress either we his subordinates or anyone else.

IMG_2501.JPG

We are due for final inspections and possibly handover, the project come Monday and we were expecting a group of representatives from our client "FIRS" and our company headquarters in Lagos. So basically we are on the verge of what can possibly make or break our careers and my boss cares little about it. This seemed to confirm my fears of news I have been hearing around that he got a job offer in Warri and he will soon be off, just after the hand over.

I just finished supervising the dismantling of the scaffolding and it was getting really late into the morning all that is needed to be done was to clear the junk piled up where the scaffolds were standing, and to be honest I was tired as hell and it will be another 24 hours in about 3 hours since I resumed work the previous day by 6AM. I had to just leave the site else I might collapse.

IMG_2502.JPG

It was already Sunday as I got into my car after giving the last set of instructions on how to clear the debris, I was already as sleepy as hell. The drive home and how I got to bed was missing in my head when I woke up sometime around 4PM. I think I was awoken by hunger as I still had my shoe on, still on the clothes I had been wearing for about 2 days now.

I gradually made my way to the kitchen and opened the fridge, I had bread and some milk left, I rushed over it, over toasting the bread with a little jam. I rushed back to the room but couldn't find my phone and getting back to the car outside I got in and picked up the phone. I had missed about 13 calls from my boss, another 8 or 9 from people I felt were irrelevant at that time. He had called me to come to site and pay up the workers as he was in site but I didn't pick so he told them I would still come, so he said as he hung up. What annoyed me about the call was that he didn't say anything about the work and how we are to present it to the client tomorrow, it is quite apparent now that I was in this alone as I rushed over a bath and jumped into my car to site and paid off the workers and it was already past 6PM and I had to get home and get prepared for the presentation tomorrow.

Sort:  

It's a good thing living one's dream. It could be stressful a times but deep down, there's this joy you have. So don't complain about stress, it's one of those things. All you need do is learn to manage the stress.

Besides, which company are you working for?

I would handle the stress, but won't take it always from that kind of a boss.
Meanwhile, its a story.

We have to take good with the bad. All your effort is purposeful - and will give a great result. Though your boss seems to be be delegating away his responsibilities as well.

It happens in most places of work, people just leave their responsibilities for others to handle. Actually not cool.

lol.. its a story?? after I have been sympathizing with you all through the post. it looks so real anyway, nice post @xpency

Lol, I wish I have a good payed job sha, but everything was just from my head.

I read one motivational books written by one popular speaker, said something If you don't live ur dream,you W end up in living another person's dream...Try to use your potential skills and ability to achieve yours @chicago17

Well, I feel so great it inspires you that much.

lol i tought it is you real life. a bit intense. 48 hours nonstop ia a real deal.

Oww yeah, only workacoholics work that way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66504.03
ETH 3578.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.03