story4wisdom #001. **I LOST IT ALL**

in #story6 years ago

How did I get here, how did I let myself be used.
These were the words that clouded the emptiness of my thoughts. If only I could turn back the hands of time, things will be way different from what they are now.
My name is Ambode and I am a graduate of chemical Engineering with a first class honours. I had dreams of becoming the best in my field and I was relentlessly working towards it. Making sure to dot my I's and cross my T's at every junction I found myself. Mistakes where not part of my weaknesses. At least I could say that before the latest incident revealed itself.
I met this friend who introduced me to a business which by his words would make me a millionaire within weeks of my involvement in it. I likes the idea because it was quite legitimate and not so stressful. Wouldn't want to go into details of the deal but it was purely mind-blowing.. Although I had doubts because I was always taught never to trust anything that seemed too good to be true but my desire to achieve greatness and wealth quickly subdued the my zeal for logical analysis..
The first few weeks were quite my best weeks in life as money kept rolling in, in millions. I couldn't help myself anymore. I kept investing more and more, including my gains and savings. This would be my greatest regret afterwards. The straw that broke the camels back finally came at the time no one expected. The agency in charge of the transactions closed down at the end of the year with a promise that they would reopen at a certain date in the new year to come (with the investment of everyone still stored in their accounts) . These promises soon turned to that of a toad assuring you of a seat in a party for only members of his clan.
The new year came and the waiting continue for days, days turned to weeks and weeks to months. This was when it dawned on me that all my investment were for another man's course. If only I knew beforehand, I would have kept my returns and invested only my initial investments. Maybe shunning the whole idea would have been the best for me. All am left with are wishes of what I should have done..
Truly, if wishes were horses, beggars would ride on them image

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62731.36
ETH 2678.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54