You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops (The THG Years) – Part One

in #story5 years ago

Oh I missed this one.

9600 baud? That's lightning fast. I had a 1200 baud modem for my text only PC-XT. There was something wrong with it and I would only stay connected for a few seconds, then a minute, then a half hour - gradually warming up until it worked. Some expensive piece of crap from Radio Shack.

I remember dialing into a BBS a buddy of ours ran the next town over. I remember getting my mother to mail him a $15 check and then waiting to see when the minutes would be added to my account. The big entertainment over there was participating in these serial stories where people would take turns writing little one-paragraph chapters. Simpler times.

Sort:  

Modems were very dodgy in the early days. I tried some Prestel a few years before at v22 I think, it was blocky graphics and the connection sucked.

With the advent of v32 and zmodem it started getting better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57291.92
ETH 3066.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36