The Greenhouse And The Chicken Coop

in #story7 years ago (edited)

My neighbor Carol is the one who has a really nice garden with many different flowers and plants. I told her about Steemit but she doesn't even have a computer, nor does she want one. I asked for her permission to take photographs of her flowers and put them on my blog and she replied, "Sure, of course you can." Now you know where I go to take most of my flower photographs.

Carol doesn't have a car either, so when she needs to run errands, I take her when her family isn't available. Two weeks ago, she called and asked me to drive her to a couple of places and she told me to bring my camera. Well, I always have my camera with me because you never know what you might find.

After the errands, Carol said, "Just drive and I will tell you when to turn. I want to take you to a great place where you can take photographs." Of course I was more than willing and excited to see where she was taking me. After driving for over an hour, we ended up in the country and Carol finally said, "Slow down. You are about to turn at this next road." We drove up a narrow road and on the left side, there was a huge corn field. I stopped to take a quick photograph.

At the end of that road she said, "Turn left." Up the big hill we went. "Park over here," she said. I was so excited with what I saw and I couldn't get out of my car fast enough. Carol and I were rushing and both of our doors were open. I went to put one foot out and Carol yelled, "Whoa! Whoa! What are you trying to do...break my leg?" I forgot to put my car in park. Thank goodness there was nothing in front of me for my car to hit. The truth is; my car just coasted a little and we had a good laugh.

To the right of where we parked, stood a greenhouse. To the left, there was a small house. And right smack in the middle was a chicken coop! Once again, I immediately thought of @farmstead and @bchick. "OMG! Look at them! I have never seen chickens and roosters in person before. This is amazing! I have to get pictures of them!" I yelled. Carol was shocked that this was a first for me. She grew up on her grandparents farm until the age of seven and they had a lot of chickens. "Remember, I am a city girl," I reminded Carol.

She grabbed my arm and pulled me to the greenhouse. Carol said, "Hurry up! Start taking pictures of the flowers!" We were the only ones there and I said, "Where are all of the people? I am not going to take any photographs until I get permission." I said. Carol replied, "It is OK. I know the lady that owns this place and she will be here any minute. She saw us drive up. If she doesn't want you to take pictures, she will tell you to stop when she gets here. This is where I buy my flowers every year." The door to the greenhouse was wide open so I finally got the nerve to walk in.

I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw all of the different, gorgeous flowers. And who came to my mind next? That would be @tangmo. She loves flowers and her dream is to have a garden one day. I like to read how @tangmo describes her beautiful photographs of her flowers; like the innocence of a child. It makes me smile every time. I told @tangmo that I would love to put her in the middle of a huge field of flowers and just watch her expression. She would be so happy.

TO BE CONTINUED...

Image Source: 100% own work.

Sort:  

@farmstead did a post and I liked what I seen and read so now you have a new follower :) thanks for sharing

Wow...thank you for your compliment and follow. Thanks again for visiting! :)

Sorry...I forgot to up so here it is. Sorry I am only worth 2 cents. Thanks again! :)

Congratulations @whatisnew! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I like your story n scenery,,living in green village is very awsome life. I love all about nature

Thank you! I love nature too. It makes me happy. :)

HEHE 'm glad you're such good buddies with your neighbour :) you are both so cute!! She's very sweet to bring you to a special place to take photos too :))

I can't wait for the next part!!! More stories, @whatisnew please! You are awesome at telling them :)) Btw, I totally get the huge citygirl awe at seeing chickens or animals in real life..I am the same..always go crazy the first time I see any animal in real life hehe...horseys, piggies, woolly sheep, chickens, big moo-moo cows etc etc!! :)))

Yes, my nice neighbor. Thanks so much for the nice compliment about my stories; it means a lot to me. You already know that I love yours! :) OMG...I am so happy to hear that I am not the only one who goes crazy like me when seeing animals in real life. Sometimes I think I am the only crazy person when it comes to my "First's," especially animals! :)

I love it that the duck is not penned up but stands there seemingly observing the chicks.

I wonder what that short structure that seems to be just right for the chickens to hide under if a predator shows up in the sky is really for. I would have so many questions about the set up and how it is working.
Thank you for these pictures. It is a wonderful day out for me to be taken with no destination and not get lost. What a good guide you are!

That first flower picture is gorgeous! Is it a begonia? It is stunning in your photo.

You sure do not miss anything do you? The next part of my story has to do with that duck...poor duck...similar to poor Lee. When I finally noticed it, I thought the duck was a decoy! And I have more pictures of the chickens and roosters in the next part of the story.

I laughed so hard about me being a good guide and how you didn't even get lost. I didn't get lost either! Now that is amazing! HaHa. Now @bchick; you must already know that I hardly ever know the names of my flowers and plants that I post! So I have no idea if it is a begonia! I will be posting part 2 tomorrow. :)

Oh good. I always look forward to your posts.
My grandson will be leaving tomorrow so after I get some rest I will be back posting again too.

Thank you for your nice compliment. I look forward to your posts too. You must be exhausted from your grandson's visit, but I know it was well worth it. Get some rest. :)

Sounds like a great adventure you both went on. A mystery tour for you. I get it about seeing the chickens in real life. It is a joy for us city born people.
I live in the country now and love listening to all the sounds if the animals from owls to horses clopping down the road. Just brilliant.

Yes, that was a great adventure. That is great that you got out of the city and live in the country now...I am jealous!

Good post.
Waiting for the next part...

Thank you so much for your compliment. There are 2 more parts to this story which have already been posted. You can find Part Two here: https://steemit.com/story/@whatisnew/the-greenhouse-and-the-chicken-coop-part-two

And you can fine Part Three here: https://steemit.com/story/@whatisnew/37dqy8-the-greenhouse-and-the-chicken-coop

Thanks again! :)

Wow, that is an awesome story of a great friendship! I found you from @farmstead and her new post where she named you specifically. I've nominated you for a @curie upvote. I hope you get one!!! 100% upvote and Follow from me. :-)

Yes, we are seniors and have a good friendship. I will have to thank @farmstead for sending you to me. Thank you so much for the nice gesture of nominating me me for a @curie upvote...so, so so nice of you! I don't even know what it is but I will check it out. Anything with the word "upvote" sounds great to me. And thank you for the up and follow. Time for me to go check you out right now. Thanks again! :)

I love your curiosity and that you love to take pictures! I do the same thing! "I have to get a shot of this!!". I love this about you!! <3

Aw...thanks friend. Put both of us together and we could end up with a lot of pictures! More pictures of the chickens and roosters will be in the next part of the story. :)

Can't wait! Love how you split your stories in into smaller digestible bites!

HaHa! You make my story sound like food. I think I will go grab a bite now...thanks! :)

This is a great story! You got so excited you didnt put it in park LOL!! I love reading @tangmo posts too!

Thanks so much for the compliment. Glad you like @tangmo too. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63459.73
ETH 2599.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78