My Grand-Puppy Charlie-Part One

in #story7 years ago (edited)

This is Charlie at the nearby lake when he was an 8 week old puppy.

I am a cat and dog lover, and have had pets since the day I was born. When my two kids were growing up, we had three dogs, two cats, a rabbit, two guinea pigs, and a ferret. I wasn't too crazy about the ferret at first. My son wanted one really bad, so I gave in. That ferret was so much fun.

After my daughter, Christina, graduated from college, she landed a really good job. One year later, her employer offered her a position in another state, to further her career. This was a big move for her, because she was now far away from home; ten hours driving distance. She missed having a dog and two years later, she began to look for one. That is when she found Charlie; an adorable Yellow English Lab. When the mother lab gave birth to her eight puppies on April 2, 2009, Christina was given first pick of the litter. She was torn between two of the puppies, and almost took both of them. Thank goodness I was able to reason with her because Charlie was a handful when he was a puppy. Before Charlie could leave his mother, Christina visited with him, as much as was allowed, by the owner. Eight weeks after he was born, she was finally allowed to bring Charlie home.

When Charlie came home, Christina took a week off from work. When it was time for her to go back to work, she didn't want Charlie to be alone all day, so Charlie began his first day at doggie day care. He had already been socialized with other dogs, so he was good to go. A couple of her neighbors had dogs, and Charlie enjoyed his playmates.

This is Charlie with one of his playmates from the neighborhood.

Christina had never been married and didn't have any children, so you can just imagine how strong their bond is. He is one spoiled dog. She has so many pictures of her buddy, and I would like to share them with you. Once you see the pictures, you will know why I wanted to share them. Charlie is sure to bring a smile to your face. Every time Christina comes back home for a visit, Charlie comes along to visit too. I am always excited to see my daughter, and I am just as excited to see my Grand-puppy. And every year when Christina goes to the beach for her vacation, she takes Charlie with her.

Here is Charlie at the beach enjoying the view.

Christina loves to be outdoors, which is a good thing for Charlie. Exercise for dogs; especially large dogs, keeps them fit and happy. She takes Charlie for a three mile walk daily, and takes him to the dog park. His favorite place to go is the nearby lake because he loves to swim. Well, of course he does...he's a lab!

PART TWO of this story will be posted shortly.

Image Source: All pictures were taken by my daughter.

Sort:  

Thanks! I just looked at your pictures and you have some cutie pies too. I am following you now.

Aww thank you! Following you as well :)

That's great...thanks! :)

it seems that charlie is so much enjoying the sunset as we all human do.

It sure does look that way, doesn't it. He's definitely a beach boy! :) Thanks for reading the story.

he is. waiting for your next chapter. no wonder he is your daughter best buddy. my brother have a dog for about 6 months, and we are really like him.

Thanks. Wait until you see what he does in Pat Two. Your brother and his dog will be inseparable.

He's so cute!!!! Absolutely edible 😍

Thanks. I think so too, but I am a proud Grand-mom.

Sweet Charlie. Thanks for story grandma..

Grandma say's, "You are welcome and thanks for reading it."

Really cute dog with beautiful story! Labrador is one of my most favorite dogs! I look forward to part two of this story with much interest! ;)

Thank you so much. Labs are great. I just posted Part Two. Thanks for taking the time to read my story.

You're welcome! I'll check your story of Part Two accordingly. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61720.10
ETH 2429.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63