The Daddy Scam (must have dark sense of humor and satire)

in #story8 years ago

Once I was living in Wisconsin and at the time wasn't working a job, but I needed money living out on the street homeless. By choice I want to be on the street, it's overwhelming but invigorating with freedom unlike anything else. In thinking of a way to score a couple bucks banked me more than I ever thought in the least amount of time, but after the dupers delight wore off I felt extremely guilty blatantly lying to complete strangers. I personally could care less about money or that status it brings, yet the world bases your intrinsic value off of what you can produce in the mere unfair (but just) trade for profits.

About a year ago I was discovered begging with a cardboard sign in a small-medium size town. I learned I made on average between $10 to $35 per hour of holding a sign on the corner, averaged $100 per day for about 3 hours a day. F--- it! Why work so hard and barely scrap by. Got ride of the Obama phone & food stamps after a while, I decided I would eventually travel. Before leaving Wisconsin, I did a social experiment though it was highly unethical and violates various social norms.

A sunny day in the late August 2015, I took my marker and cardboard to create a fresh new sign from a typical "broke n hungry". Around 2pm I wrote "Hopeless Dad" on the cardboard and flew the sign on a good intersection and stood where the median was on a left hand turn for the drivers. Drivers are the decision makers, they hold the power to spare some food/gift cards/cash/coins. Using only one or two words, no more than three, the marks will likely read>make their decision>drive by/give generously.  Within 20 mins I received $100 bill from a gentleman, three $20's and the rest were $5 & $10 dollar bills totaling $250. Yes you read that correctly, I not only graciously accepted $250 in donations in a mere 20 minutes. I also told those who asked "how many kids you have?" to which I responded without hesitation. I told them I had a one year old boy, but that boy I was thinking of at that time was actually my nephew (which I hardly see along with my sister). 

Of course I felt a bit of a high from the sheer scam I'd pulled off, that my friends was the beginning to my begging career. I do feel bad even today for pulling off a con/scam in which I lied about something extremely serious, there are a overwhelming amount of dad's that suffer greatly & are in great need to help raise their children.  Despite sincerely being curious about how people would react, I do deeply regret my immoral and unethical behavior.


This is just one of the many stories I have yet to share, please help anyway you can. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.028
BTC 60732.06
ETH 2345.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46