Touching history - Prohibited vintage Collectibles??

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Restrictions: Love it?? Or hate it??
There are things that bother many people.
Few of them are fur, guns, drugs, alcohol, tobacco ect. Yet everything has two poles.

Usualy things are created to fulfill our needs.
Even caveman knew well the benefits of fur. Guns are used for killing, no doubt. In the most weird way they are on both sides. For protection as well. Hard way. Drugs? If you ask me it's only the way to escape this world for a while. We all need to do that from time to time. But there are many ways to do that, not only with prohibited drugs. Alcohol and tobacco we all know. In many shapes, for many uses. As a medicine or a bit over or around it.

I know this theme can be wide, we could create many sub-themes for disscusion. There would be many pro and many contra opinions. I don't want to go to deep to dig the question why all this things are controversial the way they are.

I guess we are all familiar with rules of market in general. Some things are allowed for trading, some not. Shop owners and other sellers especially, because rules are strict and penalties are not small.
But anyway on the other hand people created the black market and to finish this prologue the short way: more or less everybody is happy.

As a seller of vintage things I came across some interesting rules about this items. Not everything is prohibited, at least there are rules that are changing all the time. If you sell internationaly you have to avoid some things completely to not get into trouble.

Online selling sites always have Policies and reading them can be quite tiring before you read and understand all.
I also found differences in Policies of different selling sites, even they basically all use the same laws.

So on some sites.. you can trade with endangered species animal products, but not the whole way. There is a bunch of things you have to read to know you can list something or not, even it is vintage or antique, so to speak old. The law changed many years after this animal product was made. At that time, that animal species were not yet endangered.
Some sites consider some type of knifes a weapon. Why is this more dangerous as a huge kitchen knife (that you can sell) I will never know.

Ok, what bothers me the most are collectibles. To be specific, collectible bottles, still full, originaly closed and that's why way more interesting than empty ones. Well the mind of a collector is not focused on how he will empty the bottle as soon is he gets the first chance. If the bottle survived closed for so many years it's a matter of respect to keep it this way. In most cases the drink inside is not good anymore anyway. Except for spirits. But, rules are rules. And many fine things will never get to meet the enthusiastic collector owner, because of it.

And at the end I do wish to share with you just two beautiful bottles from my collection. I know quite few people would like to become a new owner, I have noticed many likes on Pinterest and elsewhere.

Well I still have them, willing to sell them and not knowing what to do now, because at the time I was saying farewell to them in my mind.. those selling site rules changed. Hm.

At least we can adore them on these photos.
Do you have an idea where and how could I find a new owner?

Pictures.jpg

Adorable music box Bols Ballerina with gold flakes / from 50s

.

bolha 13.6.jpg

Amazing Talis Stara Slivovka - Old Plum Brandy / from 19. 2. 1966

Sort:  

I would love to try the plum brandy, but realise it is probably worth more as a collectable if not opened. I used to collect. But when my lady passed on, I reduced all the 'things' around the house. I too have an unopened bottle of spirit, but now that I've moved into a retirement flat away from the area where I used to live, am unsure exactly how best to change it's ownership. IMG_20180321_080055-01.jpeg
This Jim Beam bottle is in a tin. As you mentioned, there are rules and regs, so it probably isn't available to anyone not in Australia, unless they personally are passing through on holiday and wish to pick it up to carry in their hand-luggage. I resteemed your post on Plum brandy bottle from 1966. The door-handles were interesting but you had little to say of them and they were already beyond 6days. But I shall come back every so often as I am interested in many things from our past. I hope you get new followers who can be if more help. Keep on keeping on. 😇
Sorry the photo turned out dim, but there is a rainstorm, and the electric light shows too many reflective flashes.

Thank you so much for your post here and your involvement in mine. I see we both have the same problem and I believe we are not the only one.

Photo you made is just great, because I can see you have a special and lovely tin case there with evenly interesting treasure inside. I am not sure how costums work if you send a bottle as a "gift" overseas. I guess it depends on the final destination. But finding a new owner can be tricky, because promoting and selling, unless you are producer and you fit to the right category is hmm..... how should I say... I will not even say it. You know.

I am sure all these spirits taste amazing, at least profesionals says so about aged spirits. It's not only years spent in the brewery, it's different but it works also in the bottle. With wine is way different.

But we are after all talking about collectibles. This is a completely different mindset that works around these bottles. Yes, prices are higher, sure. If you would buy a new bottle you would pay at least 5 - 6 times less. So there is no point to worry that someone would buy it with a prime motif to drink it.

It feels really good to get a new follower and yes I will keep going. I give you my word. If I find any useful information that could bring us to fulfill our wish around the market part, I will post it here. Stay in touch.

Thank-you. The kids tell me to post on gumtree or eBay, but I was lucky one of them was here to show me how to get this one up when I want. And even after three months, I am still not the best navigator and have not touched any of the wallet passes yet. Not that I have $. or even am interested in that side particularly, but everybody seems to be $ oriented instead of just enjoying the info and connections. I might post that bottle on my blog and see if any Australian steemians are into collectables. 😇
I hope some of my readers will look more often at your post. Be well.

Well I am a newbie myself. I do have a friend here, he explained how all this works. I joined because it seems to be a nice place to write about my vintage and antique things, about the things I like and I believe others, too. I guess it turns out to be called a blog. Anyway I am not here because of the money, but it is interesting, all "likes" here are measured in a way. So you can realy see at the end of the day how you are doing, how much interest people have in your posts and makes you think what you can improve to reach more people.
Yes, about the bottle, you can try on Ebay, just read the policies first. About Gumtree I don't know, I've tried on our local site (similar like Gumtree), but no luck. Policies are strict as I wrote already. I wish you'd find someone, maybe even here, who knows. Steemians can be amazing people. I prefer to call us Steemers :)
I see we are a kind of devided in two groups: some are here for money reasons in the first place, but I see many others, who simply enjoy being here, posting, reading, sharing opinions and among those I feel good. I don't mind if a good post is rewarded.
Thanks for caring and for sharing. Take care for now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61043.90
ETH 3378.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46