A Life With No Limits: A Story About The Greatest Gamer I've Ever Met!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago (edited)

The Best Gamer I've Ever Met


@Carnage606 happens to be a savant when it comes to fighting games, and my friends and I have been telling him for years that he needs to enter in some fighting game tournaments to show the world his talent! In our eyes he was the best, and I believe our unwavering belief in his abilities lead him to avoid any situation that would damage his reputation. What's bad about this mindset is that if your afraid to fail, then you will never grow.

I think Carnage finally internalized that important lesson, and decided to sign up for his first competitive gaming tournament! Of course being the unwavering supporter of him that I am, I dropped everything I was doing and attended the tournament to see him shine!

Not to anyone's surprise, when Carnage started playing matches, he couldn't be touched. No literally, his opponent didn't get a hit on him, which immediately caught everyone's attention! To me it was like an everyday occurrence, but to his competitors, you could sense the fear and respect simultaneously emitting from their bodies. It got to the point to where the contestants were rushing though their matches, just so they could observe Carnage play, so they could try and learn whatever they could before they had to face this unbelievable rookie!


Source


When it was time for Carnage to take on his next challenger, the room fell silent. It was probably the longest 10 seconds of my life waiting for the next fighter to willingly walk themselves into their own grave. At least thats what I thought was going to happen. Almost like a movie, a 6'6ft tall giant appeared out of no where, splitting the crowd like Moses did the Red Sea.

The giant sat next to Carnage not saying a word. He reached into his back pocket and pulled a pair of gloves that look to have been worn out, over the years of the countless hours spent in the training and playing matches. There was no fear or hesitation in any of his movements, as he preceded to plug in his controller to get ready for his match. If I was Peter Parker, my Spidey sense would be going nuts right now because every second of silence leading up to the start of the match made me feel like something dangerous was about to manifest itself right in front of us. The words "FIGHT" snapped me out of my daze, as if I just jumped out of a plane. I needed every ounce of focus I could muster, because I knew my friend was about to take on his strongest challenger yet.

What followed next was 20 mins of intense matches that went down to the last hit of the last round. It was if there were two lions clashing, and if those watching moved even an inch, they would risk getting swallowed up from the intensity and bloodlust emitting from the two competitors. After the final cut scene played, and both fighters shook hands, the only thing I could think was, "Holy shit, Carnage lost...."

It was the first time I witnessed my friend lose to a superior opponent, and I was speechless. Carnage however, wasn't phased a bit. He shook the now friendly giant's hand and went about finding where his next match was to be held. To put it simply, he failed, but for some reason he walked out of that situation with more resolve and focus than I've ever seen him have in all my years knowing him. It was then that I knew that, this guy might become one of the best video game fighters in the world!

Those who aren't afraid to fail live in a world of no limits, because they will always find a way to get to where they want to go, even if they have to create their own path to get there.-me

@Carnage606 ended up losing the following match to the player who ended up winning it all, which earned him a third place finish. After the tournament concluded, I asked him why he never switched characters after everyone took the time to analyze his fighting style and formed a plan to counter it. He replied, "Oh stuff like that doesn't matter, thats what made it fun. I just picked this character up 4 days ago, and thought his moves looked cool, simple as that", and walked off to exchange contact info with all of the competitors in the tournament.


Source

I laughed at the fact that he used a new character he just picked up in his first tournament, but then immediately went into deep thought. Did Carnage avoid using his best characters to challenge himself to grow? I wonder if he thought he was far better than his competitors and gave them a handicap to make things interesting? After about a few minutes of pondering, I figured I was probably just salty he lost. I took one more look at him as Carnage as he conversed with the two fighters that beat him, and sensed an overwhelming aura surrounding him. I immediately envisioned him with a crown over his head standing on top of a huge national stage, hoisting up a trophy. I shook my head and laughed, as I ran to catch up the best gamer I ever met.


Hope you enjoyed the story of the greatest gamer I've ever met. If you liked it, and think he is a total bad ass, then please check out his page @Carnage606! Like always don't hesitate to show ya boi some love, by throwing me a Follow and a Upvote if you want to see content like this in the future! Have a great night!

Sort:  

God. F*cking. Damn.

Dunno if the effect is the same for a non-gamer, but I felt like I was reading the lore of some ancient elder of our kind and his origins. This was lit af.

And I just love how when your champion friend finally shook off his self-imposed shackles, he didn't just get up and make a break for it only to stumble with the bitter taste of defeat on his tongue. He took it like a true champion gamer, and was the best version of himself there. Its frickin' awesome!

Keep this guy close...he's one to be proud of.

Lmao probably one of my favorite comments i've ever read on here! Yeah he is dope!

Check him out! He actually got his first $100 post a few days ago!

Lmao probably one of my favorite comments i've ever read on here!

Yeya! Thanks m8 :D

Yeah he is dope!
Check him out! He actually got his first $100 post a few days ago!

Goddamn...gonna check him out in a bit after I'm done curating and replying.

Btw what game was it? Any I've played, perhaps?

Tekken! I'm sure you've at least heard of it

Tekken? I got my ass whooped on that one more times than I'd care to count...I just cannot succeed at games like those. Especially since they usually require a controller, and I've got two left hands when you put one in mine.

Put me on PC Team Fortress 2, Overwatch (or Paladins cause I don't have Overwatch), GTA V (after my one week of mastering the gameplay once I have it), Mass Effect, or Saints Row however, and I can slay.

Amongst my friends especially, I'm practically a king on TF2. Just as long as there's no veteran Counter Strike 1.6 players around. Those guys are literally FPS gods.

Why you chose centered text?

I thought it looked cool haha

It is actually harder to read, you can check wikipedia.

It is fine for headers but not for text body.

Dang really?! thanks for the info zero! I'll start using the normal format for now on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83