My Life Today: Before Péter and Timi's wedding, in Transylvania

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Thursday morning, we left Temesvár and drove towards Székelyudvarhely, where the wedding of the son of my wife Péter and Timi will be celebrated tomorrow Saturday.

On our way, we stopped for lunch at a real Hotel Transylvania, which in Romanian is spelled Transilvania.


hotel_transylvania.png

At 3PM, we arrive at the hotel in Temesvár where all the members of Péter's family were lodging: Boróka Panzió in Hungarian or Pensiunea Boróka in Romanian.


boroka_penzio.png
Boróka Panzió
source

This is an excellent boutique hotel that I would recommend if you visit Transylvania one day.


In the evening, all the men participated to the bachelor party and the women went to the bachelorette party.

To start the bachelor party, we went to a place where we shot with air guns that were replicates of real guns.


02_ready_to_fire.png

On this picture, from the left to the right, we have Béla, an uncle of Péter, who lives in Pécs, Péter himself, who lives in Calgary and Dani, his first cousin, who lives in England.

Then, we went to a pub where we drank beer and ate dinner.


03_beers.png

I drank only one beer, the one on the left. I am sure that @meesterboom would love to taste these two local Transylvanian beers one day!


Friday, the whole wedding party went to visit the Praid salt mine.

The Praid mine is a large salt mine located in central Romania in Harghita County, close to Praid. Praid represents one of the largest salt reserves in Romania having estimated reserves of 50 billion tonnes of NaCl.
Wikipedia

Part of the mine can be visited. It is a little to touristy for my taste, but it was still interesting to visit.


04_salt_mine_01.png


05_salt_mine_02.png

There is even an orthodox church in the mine.


06_church_salt_mine.png

Then we went to a restaurant where most people ate grilled trouts (but not me, as I am vegan).


Tomorrow Saturday, we will have the wedding.

Then, Sunday early in the morning I will start to drive to France so that I can be there for my mother's funeral on Tuesday afternoon, near our family house, the Abbey, in Breil.
So, I am not sure that I will post during the next three days.

Sort:  

That mine is ever so impressive! And you are right, I would love to try that beer!

I would love to try that beer!

I knew it!

I am so transparent! :O)

It seems a good day to enjoy

Welcome to România! I HOPE you will enjoy the time spent here

The men's bachelor party looks very entertaining, especially for the part of shooting with air guns, a beer afterwards to relax and continue with the celebration! The photos look great I hope it was a nice day, happy weekend :)

All my best wishes to Peter for his big day

That is interesting to learn a bit about the Romania and thank you for letting us into your family celebration. I see that cold beer which is very good in this weather. Because I can't recognize the brand it is interesting is it Wheat beer or Pils, I do not know if it is the same like in Germany ?

Also the salt mine is really impressive as a tourist that must be interesting to visit it, the walls is it salt? The children might have a lot of fun there, for sure.

I wish you a nice party celebration!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56855.76
ETH 2540.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24