The Dairy of a Greedy Man by @trojan4

in #story6 years ago

PicsArt_10-08-06.00.27.jpg

Greed can destroy what has taken you years to build. Yes it's good to acquire more but going far far beyond your capacity is what brings about greed.
Here is a Story of how a young man made well for himself and took a mighty risks but it all went the other way.
Note any name used in this story is madeup.

My name is Uche Okoro and here is my story. It all started around the time I finished my secondary school at the age of 17. As a guy that has nothing to his name, I decided to drop out and venture into doing a business. I tired so many things that didn't work out but later decided to go into tailoring. I learnt this trade for more than 1 year after which I was found ready to be on my own. After learning tailoring as a trade, I stayed home for quite a while after which my mother gave the sum of #18,000 to go to Lagos and start up something for myself.

My plans for Lagos was known to me since it is well known that Lagos is a land full of countless opportunities, I decided to try out one of them, unknown to me that fate as already mapped out my path. On getting to Lagos, I called my senior brother to let him know that I have left the village and all he could say was see you soon and hope you brought something. Well I was so excited about the thought of going to LAgos that I didn't let the I don't care expressed in the voice of my brother get to me. As I got to Lagos, I was welcomed with the heavy traffic that flooded it's street, it was asif I was out of the country, a different life entirely and I knew that I was going to shine brighter than the city. I eventually reached home (my brother's place) in which was quite ok for a bachelor.

The next morning, I set my plans into action as I got to familiarize myself with the surroundings. Although my plan was to go into tailoring more and build my skills, but as an Igbo boy I also had the idea of starting up my business.

After working and getting all the knowledge I need, I decided to pull out and start something up for myself. Since that I based mainly on tailoring, I decided to start selling materials and other tailoring tools such as needle, thread, thimble etc. To make this a success, I travel down from Lagos to Aba every week just to get what was needed.
I started with a capital of #20,000 and at the end of the week I had a profit of #5,000. On seeing this, I was so glad that I decided to continue. My journey to Aba every week was not an easy thing since I had less income, I had to manage what I had so that left me with a decision which was what they call attachment. Attaching means you don't get to be as comfortable as you want to, you simple just pair with another person on a seat.

A faithful weekend when I went to meet my supplier to get my goods as usual, she called me aside and talked brought to me a business proposal. What she had to say was that "since you have being patronizing me for a long time now, I feel that I can trust you enough with this deal. All you have to do is remain loyal and faithful". What was the deal? She will give me materials on credit. For example, if I require goods worth #150,000, she might give me goods worth #300,000. Immediately I heard this, I jumped at it and that was what started our partnership.
On my way back with enough joy in my heart, I started calculating my gain and as I kept on calculating, I kept on smile. People in the vehicle were already giving me funny faces but what I could say is that you won't understand.

That week was the beginning of my breakthrough because normally, I saw gain of #10,000 from goods worth #40,000. Now calculate how much i will from something worth #150,000. In the next 6 months, I was already counting thousands and after a year, I had two shops in different areas with sales persons which I made pay salary Everything was working fine for me. I moved out of my brother's place rented mine. Everything I bought in my house was new and expensive, you could say that I was living the life. Money was now not a problem to me because I had it in surplus.

Thanks for your time. Next I will be talking about the downfall. How everything I struggled to build came crumbling down.
This post was brought to you by
@trojan4
Don't forget to
rtc8vqw6wvvva9vtyogp.gif

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

CONGRATULATIONS....
YOUR AWESOME POST WAS SELCECTED IN THE @wafrica DAILY CURATION
COURTESY: @julietisrael
Nice Job. 👍

Hello @trojan4 your post has been featured on the Stach Post Review Article--Link to post.
Thanks for using the Stach Tag. You received a lower voting percentage because your image wasn't sourced, endeavour to source it next time
Keep Being Creative!.

Courtesy - Stach Curation team

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by trojan4 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84