A Princess with a difference (Inikpi of Igala Kingdom)!

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Several years, i studied in Igala land. Kogi state university, Anyigba, Nigeria. I heard the story of Princess Inikpi who made a great sacrifice for the Igala kingdom. She was a child after her father's heart.

Statue of Princess Inikpi at Ega Market in Idah, Kogi State, close to River Niger where she was burried alive.

According to the story, there was a war between the Bini kingdom and the Igala kingdom and during this war, the Bini's poisoned the water and took over the farmland of the Igala's. It was obvious that the igala's weren't going to have food or water anymore.
Unlike these days, when certain things are been condoned because if politics, the Attah consulted the gods of the land and he was told that he had to sacrifice his most beloved daughter for the enemies to be defeated and for the land to be saved from the enemies who seemed victorious already.
This made the king very unhappy and he was in tears for days and could neither eat nor break the news to his beloved daughter.
Princess Inikpi noticed the change in her father and sought to know why he had changed and what the cause of his sadness was. After several days, gabaidu (the Attah of Igala kingdom, Ayegba Oma Idoko) had to tell his daughter what he was told by the oracle.
Inikpi went to the bank of River Niger where the market (ega market) is sited and there, she was buried alive. That is the river that separates Agenebode in Edo North and Idah in Kogi State.
On a lighter note, i hail from Edo State and My husband is from the Igala Kingdom in Kogi State. I am therefore narrating what probably happened between my people and his.
After Inikpi was buried alive, when the Bini warriors were coming towards the Igala Kingdom, they saw the town was ablaze. The blood of the great self sacrificing Princess Inikpi had made it so and the enemies went back, thinking the town was actually burning.

Source

My husband @eugenecr7, my kids, myself and few in-laws were at the statue about 24 hours ago.
On our next visit to Idah, we will visit few other historical sites and let you know about another princess who was sacrificed but she is not as famous as Inikpi.
People name their beloved daughters Inikpi, after the great Princess and there is a female hostel in Kogi State University, named Inikpi Hostel
My heart bled when i saw the beautiful statue of the beloved Princess Inikpi but i had to tell myself that i was on a special tour with the family and i wouldn't spoil our day with my tears because it's so easy for this woman (@trendyevents) to shed tears when it comes to death since i have lost a lot of my loved ones.
One of my loved ones whom i've lost, is my beloved father-in-law who always droped me and my husband by the bank of the same river (River Niger) to go accross to Agenebode while we were preparing for our wedding and after then, before he left us to the world beyond. He wold also wait to pick us when we are on our way back. May his soul rest in peace!

Please note that the picture of the statue of Inikpi is original and snapped with my infinix note 4pro and the words are mine.

We couldn't get brighter pictures as the day was getting dark.

Long live the Igala Kingdom.

Long live the Bini Kingdom.

May peace reign in Nigeria.

May peace reign in the universe.

Long Lasting peace!

Please upvote, comment, resteem and follow @trendyevents

Thanks for visiting my blog

Sort:  

Great story!

Thanks

Wow! Such a great story.

Of course dear. Hope you enjoyed it?

Oh yes I did, seeing that statue there, one might not know the story behind it, if you are not told.

That's very true my dear.

Hehehehehe, our story, our pride. Inikpi Oma ufedo Attah

She made an exceptional mark in the history of Igala land.

This is interesting. I love historical stories and always want to learn more about the ancestral history of the Africans(nigeria especially). Thanks for sharing this. I hope I do not miss out on the next update.
By the way, you did not tell us what happened after the suppose thought fire and how the war ended, and how the too kingdoms became friends again.

I'm so glad you love the historical story. When the Bini warriors saw that the place was in Flames, they went back and thought to themselves that no need attacking a kingdom that is already destroyed. They left and never returned. As time and years went by, probably when those particular warriors had died, they heard of the story of Inikpi just as i have heard and narrated now. They knew that the place didn't actually get burnt as they thought. Of course no one would not be afraid of making trouble with a stronger oponent. Peace just has to reign.

I've seen the statue only once. That day I had a lot of thoughts run through my mind... How many princess would do such now..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64010.98
ETH 2791.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65