A Day in the Life of a Only Child- Tsuki

in #story7 years ago

They’re arguing again. My pillows have worn themselves flat from holding them over my ears. I’ve lost the emotional fortitude to cry over it anymore. I’m numb to the blaring sound of the yelling. Neither of them are right but you can be sure that neither of them want to hear it. I wonder if they even listen to each other or if they just yell because their whole life they’ve never been heard.

 Every fight has a beginning and an end, I can tell when it’s over when a door is slammed. It’s my turn to peek on the empty house full of hurt, I creep through the hallway slowly; knowing if I’m spotted I’ll be asked to choose a corner or the sea of tears my mom has stored is released and drenched over me and my raggedy poncho. I make it back to the safety of my room with my bowl of cheerios for dinner. I’ve gotten quite good at the whole “I like breakfast for dinner” charade. Let’s just say a home cooked meal is on the top of my Christmas List. A home cooked meal means someone loved us so much that they made time in their schedule to prepare something for the simple fact that they didn’t want us to be without life sustaining substance.

9:24pm.

I have a date tonight, his name is Tsuki but no one seems to care so I could practically date anyone and no one in this house would seem to mind. He’s so kind, he comes around almost every single night. His silence is admirable, He just sits there and listens to every detail of my day, lets me cry and doesn’t look at my parents any differently. I grew up with him. I never thought much of him until he showed up when no one else did. When I was 13, my mom found out that my fathers heart had wandered but yet she stayed because the pain of being without him was much too much for her faint heart to handle. The thoughts of knowing my father had forgotten he loved us for even a moment drowned me in depressive thoughts that night. I cried until my head was numb from the pain and not even a locked door or closed window could keep Tsuki’s compassion from flooding my room. I sat in the darkness and saw Him. There he was, ready to listen. I told him everything I felt and he grasped the whispers of my anger and blew them into the wind. He sat there, and he’s been there every night since.

I’ve come to learn to love silence in the light, which means Tsuki is there. Whether he is speaking or not is completely up to me. Let the door slam and an argument ensue, he brings me to my window painless, I love the man on the moon.

IMG_1955.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62067.61
ETH 2414.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57