My Last Christmas

in #story7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20171229_053253.jpg

The word Christmas alone fills ones mind with so much joy and happiness. So much love is expected and given during Christmas period.

But sadly for me , things really went south last year Christmas . it should probably be recorded in history as the worst Christmas ever experienced

I think this should be a familiar story but believe me, mine was extreme. The popular MMM ponzi scheme ruined my years plan. It took me from mount everest peak to the ocean bottom

It all started on a very sunny day, just after lectures,I and my friend decided to chill back a little and cool off our brains. Then there came some people who where doing a campaign for MMM. They had talked to us telling us how MMM has changed their lives. As a typical Nigerian, i always had this scam alert beep in my head so with disbelief i dared the man giving the speech that if he had gained so , he should give us 500 Naira each for free so we could purchase something to refresh with. To my greatest surprise, he gave us 1000 Naira each instead of 500 saying "Join MMM and never go hungry again". This was early June, about a week later, I and my friend contributed ten thousand each summing up to twenty thousand so that we could get 20% bonus for beginners who start with above seventeen thousand

I was among the early users of MMM and gained a lot of referral bonus on those that I referred. One unforgettable referral was one man who had put in a million naira. So I had a hundred thousand naira bonus

The months before December were sweet months. By December I had already made my first million, everything was going smoothly. I already had plans to start up a business. So I was planning my last MMM ride. By then, the total money I had made from MMM was a million and two hundred thousand naira. So I "provided help" of a million naira. I was merged to pay on the 11th of December. Three days later was the infamous day, on the 14th of December, when MMN website was temporarily shutdown. I had just woken up that morning and my neighbours who were aware of my involvement in MMM had come to give me the BAD NEWS. At this moment i started to experience the seven stages of grief. The news had shocked me but I didn't want believe. I did not want to confirm it either so I did not go online. Reaching the shop where I worked par-time, i was told the same thing again. At this moment I knew my money was gone. The pain I felt, the depression i got weighed me down, my dreams where fading back to what they really are DREAMS. I tried as much as I could to give myself hope.

All through December to January, I would login to my MMM account everyday, sometimes a tear or two would role down my eyes almost everything was lost. Christmas didn't seem like Christmas. Guilt didn't allow me to forget, Guilt of greediness. Greed had cost me a fortune. So I nicknamed that Christmas, "My sorrowful Christmas".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66052.74
ETH 3320.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69