Extremely Rare Photo: Borders of Iran and Iraq

in #story6 years ago (edited)

I met with some friends that I hadn't seen in nearly a decade last night. Don't let this fool you, however, as these friends are for life. We served together in the most decorated unit of all Greek forces (in my opinion at least) named DYK.

My eldest brother had served as a trainer in the paratroopers and my second brother was a ranger (that's how καταδρομέας translates in English?), so I wanted to do something special and surpass both. I joined DYK, what most of you know as OYK and spent 21 of the most adventurous, dramatic and painful (in many ways) months of my life there. Well, it's nearly 14 years since I joined DYK but I guess the memories of my service there will die with me.

One such memory is the photo my good friend Γ. had for me this morning. A picture of the borders in Iran with Iraq. I took this picture with a primitive mobile phone of a GREAT MAN, SOLDIER AND GREEK that left us too early unfortunately a few years ago. I don't know how many Greeks (or for that matter, how many Europeans) can claim that have taken a photo there, but behind the palm trees and this little oasis were armed Iraqi commandos watching us the whole time.

I wish I could share more optical material with you, but I am afraid I can't for apparent reasons. Just think that this photo was taken in 2005 and as you know back then Iraq and Afghanistan weren't the most peaceful places to be or take photos :)

Enjoy this one though...
44548628_1870140816401371_4539618223842131968_n.png

Sort:  

Awesome photography, eventhough my favourite is from the ones you cannot publish 😉!

How much a photo can deceive ... everything looks so peaceful. I know my wish is naive ... but still ... I sincerely wish ... peace and a better life for all the people of this earth.
I think ... this photo is your best ... and most valuable ... your experiences associated with it will always accompany you in your life.

Good night and sleep well...

Thank you for the beautiful comment, dear :)

You're welcome... Sorry, I can not comment so much because of RC. But I always look forward to seeing and reading from you 🤗 Have a very nice day 😎🎈🏖🎊

Iraq is one of many countries, which suffered destruction because their war was created by people who wanted to take the results of that country.

Truth be told, the ones who tried to "save" Iraq, were the ones who blessed and put the dictators there in the first place. I was sent there as member of NATO/UNESCO and I didn't participate in any theft or looting that took place there. The Greek troopers that were sent there were some of the most appreciated and loved by the locals for our ethos and contributions. I went to help, not to destroy and I hope I did a good job.

Conflict conflict conflict... Humanity stil sleeping tight!
Θα έχεις ιστορίες να λες στο παιδάκι σου .

wow! very beautifully photo shot taken.. nice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63330.55
ETH 2645.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82