Echoes of The Modern Heart- Part IIIsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago

Chapter 3.jpg

In the miniscule of that time, the past flashed by him. Her eyes. Her smile. Her angry self. Her crying over stupid stuff. The hard, torturous way he had endured all that and tried to move on seemed to shatter now. It had been a decade they hadn’t spoken. He sent her gifts on her birthday anonymously, via her best friend. She had texted him “Thank you” every time to which he never replied. She had never ever asked how he was. Neither had he ever asked her. It was as if they never had existed for each other.
“Tannu calling” it had still showed.
With a slight tremble in his hand, he received it and pulled the phone towards his ear.
“Hello? Zain, you there?”
Her voice. God, he had missed her voice. The fortress he had built inside his heart was slowly cracking up.
“Hi.”
“Long time, Zain. You never called, never even texted.”
“Yeah, this stupid life. No time. How are you?”
“Who is it?” Sara whispered, in order to avoid Tannu getting aware that he wasn’t alone.
“Hold on a sec, will you Tannu?”
“Sure.”
He turned to Sara. After muting the call, he said, “I got to take this. Shall we meet up tomorrow after work? We’ll continue this.”
“Who is it anyways?”
“An old friend.”
“Oh. Anyways, good night. Take care.”
He saw her leave. She seemed to be hiding something. It was very evident from her eyes. Something had bugged Sara. He felt sorry that he couldn’t ask her at that time.
He unmuted the call. “I am good. How are you?”
“Great.”
“How are you and Raj doing?” Raj was her boyfriend in college. About 4 months after he had confessed his love to her, she had started seeing Raj. He was a tall, muscular guy who wasn’t on good terms with Zain. He was also one of the first people who knew how he had felt for Tannu at that time.
“Well, uh, that didn’t pan out.”
“Oh. I am so sorry.”
“Well, it’s okay. I know how much you hate him. He went back to his drinking and smoking habits, and was very dominant over me. It just couldn’t happen.”
Zain could not help but smile. He had told her the same ages ago. People hate showing their complete self. There is a dark side to them which is always hidden. Raj was one of those excellent manipulators who convinced everyone that he’ll become a better person just for Tannu. Only Zain knew the reality of it. He was sure Raj would go back to his old habits. “Old habits die hard” someone had once said.
“I’d really be glad if you don’t say ‘I told you so’. You were right, Zain. I admit I made a mistake.”
“It’s okay. Everyone errs. You are no special. Anyways, I don’t really care about that. It’s in the past now.
I am pretty sure you haven’t called up to talk about Raj. What is this call about?”
“Your habit of direct approach hasn’t yet changed, I guess.”
“Sort of, yeah. So, talk. You know how much I prefer talking straight to the point.”
“Yeah. I just called up to tell you that I am in Hyderabad, and thought maybe we could meet up.”
“Woah. Okay. Uh, when are you free?”
“Tomorrow anytime. Call me up whenever you’re free.”
“Let’s meet up for dinner tomorrow. I’ll message you the details.”
“Fine by me.”
“I got to go. Good night.”
“Good night, Zain.”
His imagination was working at Godspeed. He imagined all possible scenarios for this call. Why now? After a decade? It must be something big. And he knew exactly the right person to talk about this.
He called up Ansh, one of his closest friends and one of Tannu’s best friends.
“Dude, you talk to Tannu?”
“Hey Zain, how’s you man? How’s life?”
“You suck at diverting the topic. What’s up with Tannu?”
“I don’t know, man. Why? You talked to her?”
“Don’t lie to me. You obviously are hiding something from me. Are you going to tell me or not?”
“Let’s meet up. We will talk then.”
Damn, he was there in Hyderabad too. What was going on?
“Who all are here in Hyderabad?”
“All of us.”
“What? What are you all hiding from me?”
“Nothing man. It’s just a long overdue reunion. You are hardly free to come to meet up. We thought we’d come to Hyderabad. Tannu wanted to visit so badly.”
“Are Kritika and Varun here too?”
“Yes.”
“I’ll call you later” and he disconnected the call.
He called up Kritika, who was the other best friend of Tannu.
“Hey Zain, how are you? How’s such a big shot like you calling me up?” she laughed.
“I’m fine, Kritika. I know you are in Hyderabad. What’s up with Tannu?”
“Why don’t you ask her?”
“I just want to be prepared for every scenario. At least give me a hint. Let not anything come as a blow to me.”
“Uh, don’t think so much Zain. You’ll find out tomorrow itself.”
“For old times’ sake, Kritika. You know how I have felt for her. Just for the sake of our friendship, tell me.”
“Her engagement was called off, Zain. She, uh, she called it quits after….”
“What? What’s happened to her?”
“She isn’t well, Zain. She never really liked the guy too. She was going to marry him only to keep her parents happy.”
“Then why this sudden urge to meet up with me?”
“Guess you’ll know tomorrow itself.”
“Kritika!!!! Talk, for God’s sake.”
“Zain, uh let this come out from her mouth.”
“Don’t tell me that she loves me and wants to work it out.”
“Not exactly that. Let this be a surprise for you. It’s better if you hear from her.”
“What has happened Kritika?”
“Please Zain.. don’t ask me. Please” she started sobbing.
“Hey, it’s okay? Stop. It’s okay.. I am sorry. Don’t cry, you idiot!”
“Please be nice to her, Zain. She’s going through a lot. Just, help her.”
“I will. I promise. Just..”
“She is making amends. Clearing her conscience before….”
“Before? Before what?”
“Before it’s too late.” She disconnected the call.
This was something out of the blue now. Why clearing her conscience now? There was no way he was going to work anything out with her.
Too late for what?


TO BE CONTINUED

TOSLogo New.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59114.57
ETH 2309.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49