Temporary deafness.

in #story7 years ago

Imagine being able to hear one minute and then becoming deaf the next... scary thought isn't it?

images (2).jpg

Well last week it happened yo my husband and it was my fault. So lets actually start with a little history. My husband has had a problem with producing too much earwax. Occasionally I'd notice that he is getting a buildup and although I don't like using earbuds or Q-tips, it was all we had so we got to cleaning.(I watch extraction videos and more often then not Q-tips causes a problem) 6 disgusting Q-tips later and my husband was getting annoyed (this was only for one ear). I offered to help and tried collecting the wax I could see... suddenly he was deaf in his one ear.

images (3).jpg

We go to an ear doctor and they have a look in his ears. Turns out his ear got blocked completely with the earwax and they suggested we get some eardropps to soften the wax and then have it flushed out. We do as we were told and add ear drops every 3 hours, clean out what was loosened up and repeat. Knowing he only had a small space left for hearing left in his other ear I suggested that we clean that one too...

Again I offered assistance and yet again I mess up and block is ear... he is now completely deaf. Deciding we cant wait for the weekend to pass we g to the pharmacy again, by some earwax candels and a syringe.

images (5).jpg

For those of you who dont know. Earwax candles is like a piece of cloth that was dipped in wax and paraffin, one end you stick in your ear and the other end you light. The heat melts your earwax and draws it out into a little opening. It actually worked and we got a lot of wax out... but not enough as he was still deaf...

images (6).jpg

So we tried flushing it. Having seen how it's done a couple of times I was confident that I could do it, after a few tries, I get the biggest chunk of earwax out of his one ear. Suddenly he could hear.

images (4).jpg

We tried flushing his other ear (the original one that made him deaf) but only a small amout of wax came out, bo matter how many times we tried, it just wouldn't come out. Having water in his ear Daniel decided that he was going to use a Q-tip just to get it out. The moment he put it in his ear, a bubble popped, lots of water came rushing out and he could hear again... turns out that the eardrops had caused a bubble and when we flushed his ear, the only wax left came out but the bubble caused him to not be able to hear... we have no idea how long he had been he could have been able to hear. All I know is that next time I'm not helping.

Xoxo
@thegoldencookie

Sort:  

Thank u for the information

Aw gross! But glad it helped :))

It was even worse to see... apparently flushing your ears is the safest way to remove earwax. It is also the most disgusting way.

Well I can think of a proverbial million things which are more disgusting but I'm glad you are doing fine now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57616.20
ETH 3030.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25