Storytime: How fear almost cost me my husband

in #story7 years ago

Hey guys, so I'm going back to the beginning. Back to when I first met my now amazing husband.

images.jpg

It all started with an online open chatroom on an anime site. I was chatting along happily with the converstaion as I was deciding on what to watch next when I get a notification. A private message was sent to me. I opened it up and let me just say damn. My hubby was and still is incredibly good looking but I was NOT interested in starting anything with this guy who was clearly out of my league. But since we lived in the same country and where into the same things I thought friends wouldn't hurt.

mrgoldencookie's pf pic back then

I had gotten out of a relationship a year prior and honestly I was still hurt feom that. I don't do rebounds and never have so from the start I told my now hubby that all I'm looking for is friendship. Not long after I gave him my personal number so it would be easier to communicate. He was and still is a incredibly good friend. My best friend.

images (2).jpg

Looking back, that friendship failed the moment he called me to speak to me in person. I didn't admit is to myself though. My husband's voice made me melt. It was almost like his voice sounded like black velvet, soft and hard and really sexy. Infact it was so sexy that the moment he said hi, I hung up the phone. He called back after checking that this time I'd actually speak. I forgot how to speak but managed weird sounds.

images (7).jpg

He started calling me every day. Just as friends to check up on me, talk about his day and ask about mine. After about two weeks, I suddenly realized with dread that I really liked this guy. I had to end it was my first reaction, and so I tried.

images (4).jpg

I did it by telling him that I liked him and that we should stop talking because of it. He didn't want to loose a good friend, neither did I so I told him that we could stay friends if what just happened doesn't make things weird or awkward in any way. It did but we tried being friends for 2 weeks before I basically told him that we aren't being good friends anymore, things are awkward and I don't want to continue. He then admitted to liking me aswell but since we lived on opposite sides of the country we knew a relationship wouldn't work. So we tried being friends again, this time it wasn't awkward but more caring and flirty. Before long we started a long distance relationship.

images (8).jpg

Long distance turned into a normal relationship and that turned into marriage. Looking back it could have easily not worked out as well as it did. Because of my fear I pushed him away and I could have lost him before ever having him.

images (9).jpg

Don't let fear control your life or your relationships with others, you might regret it.

Xoxo
@thegoldencookie

Sort:  

Wonderful story!

I married my best friend too <3

Who did not get regret in his life???

But the most important things that he can get rid of it and keep maintaining his relationships by improving his communication skills.

Wish you all the best with your lover 😍

Wonderful post @thegoldencookie ... keep up the good work... Blessings

Great story! Upvoted.

I really like your post, I will wait for the next posting

That is such a cute story! Wish you and your husband all the best in the world xoxo

Thanks for your story it was a good thing to read as my girl friend broke up with me last week after a three year relationship. Stories like this give me hope when all I want to do is cut myself off from everybody.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68781.96
ETH 3736.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73