Storytime- Beginners luck

in #story5 years ago

So recently I've decided to take on painting, because it's an expensive hobby, I got a child's waterpaint kit to start off with as well as a few canvases that I could wash and repaint (for practice purposes.

So last week Friday, I got the stuff and as soon as I got home I started painting... It looked wonderful and unfortunately a picture of the painting didn't do it justice.

IMG-20190201-WA0005.jpeg

IMG-20190201-WA0007.jpeg

I was so proud of my first painting ever, but I wasn't fully happy with it so I washed the canvas to retry later, once the canvas was dry.

Skip to a few days later... The canvas is finally dry and I get all of my art supplies ready to try again.... This time it didn't work, I'm not sure it it's because I needed to prime the canvas first or if I only had Beginners luck, all I know is that the second time I tried painting, it looked like a two year old got hold of the brush, in fact, a two year old would have probably done a better job.

So I have a question for all the artsy people out there, do I need to prime my canvas before painting, what works best for this kind of water paint and what kind of brushes would you recommend (mine are shedding)?

Xoxo
@thegoldencookie

Sort:  

Congratulations @thegoldencookie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 450 posts. Your next target is to reach 500 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hey - you got my upvote! :D
#camillesucknuts

*fighting toxic downvote behaviour on steemit - wish ya a great day! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25