Story Time: Exhaustion and Emergancy Groups

in #story8 years ago

The past few days have been the longest days I've had in months. It started with what was supposed to be a six hour drive to visit my family. (It took approxamately 10 hours for us to show up.) Needless to say we were exhausted when we arrived. After agreeing on sleeping arrangements and a nice chat. We decided that bed is calling...So was my sister.

enter image description here
Image credit

She was at the gate, unexpected and awaiting assistance to get inside. It was probably around 11pm at this point. She had my niece with her and ofcourse I had to spend at least 30 min watching her nap. They were staying the night. This is when the news of her other delema broke out. She was out of baby formula and nappies, all the shops were closed and the hunt to find very expencive and important baby stuff began.

enter image description here
Image credit

About an hour later formula was found. Not the same brand as my niece is used to drinking... Delema two began. My niece refused to drink the formula.
Exhausted and over babies I decided that it was time for sleep. Sleep didn't come until 4am.
7am. I get woken up and told that breakfast is ready. Dragging my tired body from bed I began the day. It mostly consisted of playing with the baby, making my very exhausted sister laugh to the point of tears.

enter image description here
Image credit

It was another late night and as soon as I was able I was in bed, almost asleep... Then it happened. My phone continually pinged (message tone for my area emergancy group). Knowing that it could be important and that I'm 600km from home. I decided to check... The moment my eyes met the text of the messages I lost it.

enter image description here
Image credit

1am and the messages are about a cow giving birth in a field... Not a burglary, fire, murder, kidnapping... no a cow was giving birth and it was upsetting the dogs.

enter image description here
Image credit

I dropped Daniel's phone off the table when I read this, and didn't notice until this morning. His phone rang while I was sleeping. It woke me up and I reached for it, noticed it was on the floor and bending down to get it. Managed to hit my head on the bedside table. I am now growing a golfball on my head.

Sometimes there is no end to a bad week. Let my week in hell begin...

xoxo
@thegoldencookie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60938.00
ETH 2386.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57