Drip Drip Drip (Origional Horror Story)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Because it's Halloween soon I thought about writing my own little creepy story. Hope you enjoy

enter image description here
Image credit

Drip, Drip Drip

I've never been the biggest people person. You might say I'm somewhat of a loner, so when the first semester of University was about to start I dreaded the thought of it. Leave it to me to choose a University miles from home where my only options were that of student accommodation or joining a fraternity. Neither of which I was pleased about. I especially didn't want to leave my dog Lucy so I decided to do the unthinkable and looked on Craigslist for house shares.

Everyday I would go on and search but as soon as I called the places where already taken or belonged to total creeps. I have been searching for a place for weeks now and nothing, I was about to give up hope. That was until today. As I logged onto Craigslist a new house share popped up. It was perfect. Only a few blocks away from the University, small pets where allowed and it was under my price range. I called and arranged to see it. Deciding that I was already going to take it I withdrew the deposit.

Reaching the house it looked better than what it did in the ad. White picket fence, clean open windows. It was like home. The land lady was friendly and showed me around the house, stating house rules as we were walking. I was informed that the bathroom upstairs next to my room was out of order and was getting renovated hence the low price. I didn't care so without making it out of the house first I told her I would take it and offered to pay the deposit right away. I moved in that weekend.

At first everything was fine except for Lucy. She didn't like being upstairs in my room during the day, but at night she would come in while I'm in bed and lick my hand before jumping onto the bed to sleep at my feet. As the semester continued I would stay at school later to get homework and assignments done before going home. This meant I saw less of Lucy and she was making it clear that she was having none of it. As soon as I would walk into the door she would start barking at me. "Hush Lucy you're going to wake everyone" that seemed to shut her up. One night after the same routine I went upstairs to see that the bathroom door next to my room was open. "Looks like they finished" I muttered to myself as I walked past it. Deciding that I was going to test out the shower in the newly renovated bathroom I grabbed my clothes and my towel.

After a nice shower I was exhausted, skipping my reading for the next day's class I turned off the light, closed my door leaving a small space open for Lucy and got in bed. Sleep soon fell upon me. Being a light sleeper I heard Lucy come into my room and felt her licking my hand as always. With closed eyes I stroked her head, it felt wet and dirty. "Where have you been girl?" I asked still half asleep not expecting an answer. Lucy didn't jump on my bed like she always does, instead she was lying on the floor. It was probably the middle of the night when I noticed the drip, drip of the shower. Too tired to lift my body I made a mental note to let the land lady know and went back to sleep.

The next morning I woke up from the sun streaming through my window. Fearing that I might be late for class I jumped out of bed, put on the first pieces of clothing I could see and rushed into the old bathroom to brush my teeth. Remembering that the shower was dripping last night I made my way to that bathroom to see if the problem fixed itself. As I pulled back the shower curtain I let out a scream that my ears didn't recognize as my own. The scene was sickening. Lucy was hanging from the shower head, her stomach was cut open and there was blood everywhere. I turned around to look away then notices it. Written on the mirror, in blood "did you know I lick like a dog too?"

Terrified I ran out of the bathroom screaming. I found the land lady downstairs sitting at the kitchen table. She looked at me with the most sadistic smile. Thud I fell to the ground, my head was screaming with pain but no words left my mouth. I moved my eyes up to look as her and saw her walking slowly towards me. "Hold still darling it will only hurt but a second". I blacked out.

Next thing I know I wake up in a hospital room with police officers standing in front of my bed. "Miss, you are very lucky to be alive. Neighbors called us when they heard you scream. Unfortunately we didn't make it before he had removed your tongue. You will never be able to speak again. Don't worry miss we got him." I frantically tried to tell them it was my land lady but no words came out. "Try not to speak miss, it will be alright there is an officer outside"

He left the room and I was left crying in silence. That night my parents came to see me. Horrified at the sight of me, my mom ran out of the room crying and my dad just stood there with rage in his eyes. "Don't worry sweetie, you are coming home with us tomorrow. We'll be outside, you get some sleep." I felt better knowing my parents were here. I closed my eyes and dozed off. I could feel small licks on my hand and woke up startled. Her face was a few inches from mine with the same sadistic smile "Hello Alice, you didn't think I'll leave you?"...

Till next time
@thegoldencookie

Sort:  

A nice variation on an urban legend. I like how you took it further and made the end horrifying too.

Wait there is an urban legend? Do tell me more I would love to read up on it. Thank you for the compliment?

Your wish is my command :)

http://urbanlegends.about.com/od/horrors/a/humans_can_lick.htm

My main problem is my brain remembers loads of utter trivia. I have no idea where it stores it, but usually, the relevant information pops up when I need it :)

That is a really cool gift. You must be a boss at parties. I like interesting people who can tell me trivial things :)

Well next time you throw an epic party, you'll have to send me an invite ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65