Dancing: Where it all started for me

in #story7 years ago

We have all seen those movies that makes you want to get up and start dancing. In fact that is probably where my passion for dancing started.

enter image description here
Image credit

When I was very young I loved ballet. The movement and the grace of those dancers made me want to be just like them so I started ballet lessons. What I didn't know at the time is the amount of practise and pain it takes to learn how to stand on your toes let alone dance on them. Fortunately because I was so young I wasn't put through that but my older sister would come home blistered and bleeding from the amount of practise she needed to catch up to the girls her age.

enter image description here
Image credit

This made her very unhappy so my mother decided modern dance would be better. It wasn't as graceful as ballet but it was still beautiful. We made our transition, I kept having ballet lessons and then would go through to my modern dance lessons. Pretty soon I wanted to stop ballet and continue spending all my time with modern dance. I loved the stories it told, the movements and the music. After every practise, I would go home and rehearse the dances, I just couldn't get enough.

enter image description here
Image credit

When I turned 9 we were invited to attend a free class of the new dance style being introduced to our town. Of course I went and that is where I fell in love with Latin. I loved the way the music spoke to my soul, the movements of my body and the upbeat and fast dance steps. I loved the way it looked and my love and passion for it on the first day was recognised by the instructor who had spoken with my mom and convinced her to have me take lessons. I was over the moon. Of course my older sister also started dancing, she loved it too and I looked up to the way she looked when she danced. Dancing was the only time in my life that I felt confident in myself and my skills.

enter image description here
Gif credit

After only 4 years of dancing, I was 3 exams away of reaching the professional title. Unfortunately I was forced to stop when we moved towns.

My passion for dancing still burns bright.

xoxo
@thegoldencookie

Sort:  

So what you were forced to move town ... With high spirit like yours you can win any and every town over and over .. ! Keep it on !

The town we moved to only offered ballroom and it was too expensive to afford to attend classes. The town I live in now has no dancing instructors either. My husband does however enjoy my dancing in grocery stores (im silly that way)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69033.32
ETH 3748.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67