You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 10 Things I Learned From Being Homeless

in #story7 years ago

Upvoted, resteemed and following.

I, my wife, our 2 kids and 3 dogs spent 16 months without a mailing address. We never got to the point of being in a tent, but there were a few weeks where we lived in a friends motor home.

#6 Friends, you can add family to that too.

People shun you like they think it's going to rub off.

That's not what the 'Murican dream was supposed to be.

Sort:  

It's so difficult when you have family with you. I am so sorry, I know how stressful it was for you.

The American Dream... Is that even a thing still?

I wonder if it was ever more than a "dream".

We managed to find a place that would let us keep the dogs and have been here 3 years now. The thing that makes us angry is that we've worked back up to have good credit scores again and no banks or mortgage companies will give us a mortgage for even half of what we've been paying for the last 3 years.

The "System" is set up to keep you as debtors and never let you out.

I am happy you have a place for your whole family, I operate a rescue home for severely abused and burned pets and over the years a few have become "permanent residents" lol.

The "system" imho is going to shatter soon. Granted, I am new to cryptocurrency, but it is looking like the more people become informed and comfortable to use it, the shakier the old banking and financial system is getting.

Agreed.

I think the whole system has been shaky for a while, but people have gotten used to it.

People in California probably treat earthquakes like they're no big deal.

But if your house shakes in Michigan, somethings seriously wrong, or it's just another meth lab exploding.

Omg! That last sentence caused my computer screen to wear the sip of coffee I just took...

~ Note to self- refrain from beverages when @theblingsquirl is in the area

Or eating anything small enough to pass through your nose.

It's a coping mechanism.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66