My "Life" Story Part 2. The Truth Comes Out

in #story7 years ago (edited)

 

Part 2. The Truth Comes Out:

... I didn't want to answer. Fear had taken over. Do I tell her? I didn't even know this woman, and she had yet to even answer my one question! My heart felt like it was going to fly out of my chest. I began to sweat and I no longer felt safe in that room. Is this a trick? Is my dad testing me to see if I'll tell? Where the hell was he? My mind was racing.  I didn't answer. I shut down. Completely. 

Another woman entered the room similar looking to the red lipstick lady already there. 

"It's okay, take your time."  "I work with CPS, and we are going to help you".

I didn't want to take anymore time. I was done. I knew if I told them, something bad might happen to me, and I would never be able to go home. I thought hard about how I was going to answer. I didn't want to. The words wouldn't come out even if I tried. I was used to not saying anything. I buried it deep within me, and kept it locked down so no one could enter.  

"If it makes it easier for you hun, just know that your friends already told us everything earlier, and now we are just trying to get your story". "We want to help you, and the sooner you tell us, the sooner you can go, leave, and be done here".

There was nothing I wanted more than to be done. I wanted to go home, but I knew something was off. I knew somehow, that I would probably never really return "home". My life was about to change, and I could feel it. 

I grabbed the teddy bear, and looked at its stupid face smiling at me. This was not a time to be happy. 

I looked up. "Do you promise I can go home after I tell you?" I said with rage now bubbling from within.

"We Promise"...

I pointed at the bear. 

Like a soda bottle ready to explode, I couldn't contain it anymore. This was it. I was terrified while speaking, but I was also no longer afraid, somehow. I knew it was the right thing to do. Like a wild bird in a cage, waiting to be set free, this was my open door. 

With tears pouring down my face, I finally did it. I told them everything. 

I knew that I would probably never see my dad again after that, and I was okay with that. I was able to leave with a weight lifted off me. They told me I could keep the teddy bear to remind me of my bravery, and to help comfort me at night, since I was going to a new home for a few days. That was the first time I'd ever stepped foot into a Foster Home. 

My dad was later charged with 3 counts of 1st degree criminal sexual conduct on 3 minors under 13 and sent to prison for 10 years.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.35
ETH 2687.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50