When I met the INDIANA JONES of land crabbing and the beginning of TEAMRODRIGUEZ land crabbing business.

in #story7 years ago (edited)

20170723_221601.jpg.

All I knew was we were going land crabbing.

It was a warm and wet night in May 2014. The truck was broken so we hitched a ride from work to our temporary home. At approximately 11:10pm we arrived home, changed clothes, grabbed a machete, a pillow case and headed out the door.

Holding our hands we started walking on the highway towards our destination...the bridge by the stop light (as a business crabber I've learned not to divulge our crabbing spots).

I remember going to the side of the bridge not knowing what to expect. I was a little scared since I was afraid of the crabs...now, here I was, going into their territory.

Even though his body language had changed as he was being morphed, he was still a gentleman. He helped me climb down, watched for water puddles and redirected me, constantly asked if I was okay and so on and so forth.

Then it happened, he spotted the first land crab of the night...he moved in stealth mode (like there was a booby trap just around the corner), he pointed the flashlight at his eyes to blind him from seeing him coming (two warriors in combat), and finally he was close enough to catch it. He lowered himself slowly, spread his fingers and with a burst of super natural speed the crab was in his hand.

20170723_233512.jpg

He came towards me with his prize on his left hand, flashlight on the right, a smile on his face and a gleem in his eyes.

You could see he was so proud to show me his skills.

After that it was a beautiful dance between man and land crabs...
*He walked like a ballerino: every movement was with purpose.
*He ran like a hyena: at their side before they knew it.
*He threw himself on the mud like INDIANA JONES: as if he was running from large bolders.

Sometimes he caught 2 crabs and was stepping on another. He caught them on land and on the little stream of water. Nothing escaped him.

My assigned job was to bring the pillow case so he could drop the crabs in.

Official title: PILLOW CASE HOLDER.

I thought to myself...how can this man make himself so small and invisible to catch so many crabs.

20170723_223507.jpg

Three things happened that night...

  1. I met the INDIANA JONES of land crabbing.
  2. I fell deeper in love with my amazing husband.
  3. I knew that land crabbing was going to become a major business for us.

To this day my husband is so honored to be called the INDIANA JONES of land crabbing.

He was full of mud (hands, clothes and shoes) and I remember walking up the hill, holding hands, thinking I AM YOUR BIGGEST FAN.

If you like this story please resteem, upvote and follow @teamrodriguez.

Join us in our land crabbing adventure...

Sort:  

Amazing story. I could picture him grabbing the land crabs. Very descriptive and entertaining. My sister Milagros @ lotusbeyouty brought us some of my sister team Rodriguez land crabs all the way to Washington state. They were huge, purge and fatten to perfection. The best land crabs Gossier has eaten. We will be making calaloo and season rice. Can't wait to read some more of your adventures.

I love the STEEMIT platform. It has allowed me to get my creative juices flowing. Thanks for your comment sis, @catagossier. Tell Gossier...I will bring him more crabs in November.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 52827.29
ETH 2171.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28