One shot at being rasta

in #story7 years ago

My unusual liking to the whole rastafari thing I’ll admit was a surprise to myself because here I was condemning some people who believed in the faith already and as usual I shared the same mentality as everyone at that time who had decided to not ask any form of questions but to come to their own conclusions. I’ve got myself four of these amazing people already! The first time to be honest I got scared but his actions drew me closer to him.Its quite obvious we all know them for the marijuana smoking and their dreads and the lifestyle which is different from anyone else’s and of course the very popular reggae beat that gets everyone on their feet and shouting out loud no matter where they are.
WhatsApp Image 2018-01-08 at 10.06.14 PM.jpeg

The rastafari order emanated from the sayings of Marcus Garvey. There’s a hard time for people in their understanding of rasta and see it just to be a new kind of religion but it entails more than that. From my various curious searches during my free time I came to understand the fact that it is actually more than a religion. It is a way of life, social movement and a mindset. We could say this movement was originally found in Jamaica but now can be found in several places all around the world. Rastas are everywhere. Marcus Garvey in one of his several speeches which dealt with the liberation of the blacks spoke about looking forward to a day where there was going to be a crowning of a black king who was going to serve as their redeemer. This the people took clear notice of not knowing that that day was going to be one of the historic days in the lives of the people. When Tafari Makonnen was crowned king and had titles such as the ''King of Kings'', "the conquering lion of the tribe of Judah" to the people the prophesy of Marcus Garvey had been fulfilled and this birthed the rastafari movement.

Marcus’ teaching was always linked to the Bible and the people always took to the literal meanings of these teachings. Meanwhile rasta as a form of spiritual living and expressing consciousness has also been a common but special aspect of our old African indigenous traditional culture before the birth of Marcus Garvey. When this event happened they found similar events in the Bible thereby giving them enough reasons to justify their reasons of believing in the fulfilling of the movement. The few Jamaicans who followed this believed in it and accepted the movement. Not to contradict the whole thing some of these people still believe in God and go to church. Very staunch christians. This was the evolution of rastafarianism where a group of people who believed Haile Selassie was their Messiah.

WhatsApp Image 2018-01-08 at 10.21.31 PM.jpeg

This is when they took to leaving their hair which was in relation to the mane of the lion. But before this dreadlocks was already in existent in many African cultures. The smoking of the herbs was seen to be a ritual and therefore was seen to be unholy when people decided to misuse it. They have a whole different ideas from the white man’s because they believe in liberation and following the lead of these people still put them in some form of a bondage not giving them the opportunity of realizing their dreams at all.

There have been several times these rastas have tried to legalize marijuana and several times have they lost these fights in the court. Making their course for the legalisation always futile and most often than not they have been seen to be very violent people. I believe that all that these people have done so far is to be interested in being totally liberated and ensuring peace which I can confidently say is a continuous work in process. You would agree with me if you really listen to various musicians like Bob Marley, Peter Tosh, Lucky Dube and a whole lot of these musicians whose major focus was on peace and social issues.

WhatsApp Image 2018-01-08 at 10.21.49 PM.jpeg

Not only are they entertainers and crazy people they are actually very down to earth and fun with no moment with them being a bore trust me. I recently found out these people can be great environmentalists. They are vegetarians! At least I know I’m right with this one and good naturalists too. They are fountains of wisdom as well. So lets just say that we want to tell the children the truth and erm lets say we can get a roof over each others heads. That's the spirit!

Get yourself a rasta!!!!.



WhatsApp Image 2018-01-08 at 5.53.52 PM.jpeg

()

Whew I never thought I'll let this post out. I hope you enjoy it and get to have a different mindset about my amazing fellas. I like them alot so I thought I should throw some light on them.

DON'T FORGET TO UPVOTE THIS POST IF YOU LIKED IT! Thanks to @skeptic for this lovely gif .

Sort:  

Now Im in love with rasta :)

😂😂 siaa

yaaay I'm glad you do!

Nice post Tasha. I’m guessing this is the reason behind your username “TashaMarley”.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Great to see brothers and sisters with their natural hair!

Weaves drives me nuts. I with more African Americans would be one with their natural beauty!

Congratulations @tashamarley! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @tashamarley! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59961.00
ETH 3199.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46