What happened to puppy love?

in #story8 years ago

So today I was at home, and my little sister asked me a question that left me curious.
She said: Talah, did your boyfriend ask you out to the valentines disco?
I had no idea where this was coming from (she's never shown an interest in boys before) and i said: well not when I was in grade 5.
She was quite pleased with the answer and exited my room, without realizing the curiosity she had just transferred into my mind, so i went into her room and sat and her bed. Where I continued to annoy her until she told me what was going on. Apparently some guy had asked her out, but one text message.
I would like to point out that when I was her age, i didnt even have a phone! Its actually amazing to see modern day technology rob us of the significant life building blocks. Things Like building up the courage to ask your crush out, experiencing that small awkwardness for the first time and then slowly learning how much you can like one person and express that feeling in words and body language. And not with 'kissy face' emojis and digital cards. There is something so much more romantic than telling someone you love them on your cell phone, you could argue that your phone is holding the memories of the relationship. Well, when I first liked someone and he liked me, we sent each other letters! Letters, that I now keep in a shoebox under my desk, so that I can one day show my kids that before I had a cell phone- I managed to experience true blissful authentic puppy love. And I truly hope that as the cell phones evolve and develop that the old spark of romance stays alive and survives this dark time of emoticons and text message.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.59
ETH 3132.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44