Where Have I Been

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Low on data for a few more days and I have been getting my art web site ready. I'll post the url at the bottom so you can go peek.

A few days ago we went into Parker, Arizona to mail a painting then decided to stop at a diner called Bobby D's. It's revamped to be a 1950's diner and as you walk through the doors you see the black and white checkerboard tile and sitting on a stool is "Elvis". I didn't expect him to be there playing his guitar so he scared the life out of me. Totally life size and looking quite real.

IMG_5939.JPG

We sat at a booth and ordered as 50's music played. As I sat there I think I turned into a pre teen once again and I'm telling you that I prefer to be in the present. People say, Oh I wish I could go back and I say, ah..I'm good right here and now.

IMG_5941.JPG

IMG_5940.JPG

Our next adventure was to go walk down through the wash that runs behind our campground mountain. They said it was the old access road to the campground and we were ready to go and see.

Us On Our Adventure

IMG_5974.JPG

I have a wonky hip so after three tylenol I grabbed my trusty stick, a good size limb from a tree, and off we went. It became warmer as we walked, hobbled, and silly us, didn't bring water. Hellooo, we are in a desert. Anyway, we traveled down through the wash, ravine, between ever growing hills with scrub brush and volcanic sproutings.

IMG_5970.JPG

IMG_5969.JPG

Along the path we spotted a man sitting under a tree. We were in the middle of no where and there was a man! I started to get nervous but as we approached it turned out that he was from our campground and his 4 wheeler had broken and he was waiting for friends to rescue him. This was by the way around 1:00 P.M. "Is this the way to the campground?" I asked.
He replied that it would lead first to a waterfall and a drop before reaching the access to the campground, so on we went.

IMG_5968.JPG

IMG_5971.JPG

And the waterfall. Where is Bear Grylls when you need him. It's probably hard to see because of the suns position, but there's a tiny dark area wayyyy down there that's the path out. Could we do it? climb down? I had on leggings and we decided after I sat on the rock to slip over that the rocks would rip them apart and I'd be walking back sans pants. Then we thought, wow, what if we did make it down and couldn't find a way out? Could we climb back up and out? We decided to walk back the way we came and see if we could find the way in from the bottom.

On the way back we saw the man sitting under the tree once more. Friends are coming he said. Probably about 2:00 P.M. now.

Back At The Campground

We take the dogs out for their walk about 3:45P.M. every day and I saw a group of 4 wheelers come in and gather together. I then heard one say, "We can't find him." Of course I went over and asked if they were looking for the man under the tree and they said yes but just couldn't locate him. Funny how sometimes there's a reason you do things. We told them where we saw him and about an hour later he was home. Walking very slowly and probably somewhat dehydrated. But safe.

Today we walked out around the point behind the mountain on the beach to see if we could see the entrance to the waterfall. We could see the area it would be in but it's all surrounded by reeds and water. So, if we had climbed down that day we would have had to swim back to our rig. Huge sigh. Fun adventure. Next, do we climb up over the rocky sandy slippery hill to see what's on the other side??

Warmly
Sheila

@originalworks

http://www.sheilawedegisart.com

Sort:  

Awesome story, Hon! Great photos! You even got one of me! LOL!

Congratulations @swedegis! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=swedegis
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=where-have-i-been


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You're supposed to post @originalworks in comments, else it won't work. It probably won't anyway tho

Oh gotcha.. wasn't sure so thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69275.96
ETH 3491.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.69