You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is The Customer ALWAYS Right? - True Tales from the Trenches, #1

in #story7 years ago

Loved that story. Would like to add I worked in corporate sales for a long time which is kind of ironic if you know me. You see, I never wanted to be known as a 'sales rep'. Anyway, I was fairly successful, not because I could follow a sales call script or list three counters to objections, but because I approached every manager or CEO as a potential friend, instead of a potential sale. My call notes were a nightmare, time management was a joke and my presentation just a little eccentric. However, my territory was full of 'buddies' who knew I would stand up for and back them if our services failed (like friends) do and they rewarded me with their time (which is tough to get) and their business. Once you strip away the outside (corner office, personal assistant, etc) we are pretty much all that same kid who used to enjoy skipping stones and telling scary stories around the campfire. And yeah, I made it into management...

Sort:  

Hi, friend @swansed,

I'm glad you enjoyed my story. I enjoyed reading your account of building relationships in your sales career. Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60320.14
ETH 3373.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51