How Much Do You Know About Me? Talking About My 'Second Life' 💚

in #story6 years ago (edited)
Variety's the very spice of life, that gives it all its flavor. - William Cowper

Life has many different tastes, and I by myself like to try them all.

Even though I'm a kid of the internet, one of my biggest passions takes place outside the computer - and I'm not talking about surfing right now.

Would you believe me if I told you that I spend many hours per day in a greenhouse cultivating hot peppers? Well those of you who've started to follow my blog last summer will know that already, since I kept you posted on last season's crop back then.

For my older followers it's gonna be a classic #throwbackthursday, for the newer ones it'll be a completely new facet of my life's story - thus a new chance to interact.

And @walden: you know this is especially for you :-)

Here's why I love to get my hands dirty!

tbt: @surfermarly taking care of the hot pepper production

The other me

In my second life I'm primarily daddy's girl.

My father built his new business from scratch ~16 years ago. He's a chemist who worked for an international research company before he started to follow his dream and do something completely different.

He's now the hot pepper seeds supplier that has the largest amount of different varieties in the world. You may only imagine how proud I am of him :-)

Honestly, I had been proposing my father to work with him for a long time. But recently he confided me that he wanted me to cut my own path before joining his. That was actually a wise decision!

From today's point of view it was exactly the right thing. I did my own career, worked in marketing and sales for 12 years, made my own mistakes, fell down, stood up again and learned for life.

When I joined my dad's business one and a half years ago, I felt being ready for the new challenge.

Now he's the man of action and I'm the vitamin fun I guess :-)

@surfermarly watering tomatoes in an .... unconventional way :-)

It's essential to love what you do!

I know it's a great fortune to be in such position.

Not everybody in the world is always able to follow their dreams and find a job that's even fulfilling. Yet, attitude is an important ingredient when it comes to find happiness in life. Even though we can't always do what we want, we have the opportunity to make the best of it.

Luck doesn't mean that you can always do what you want, but that you always want what you do. - Tolstoy

A chance encounter: @surfermarly meeting a like-minded friend at the greenhouse

Embrace the spice of life!

I by myself have made the experience that having many different fields of interest truly enriches one's life.

So while my morning is about weeding in the greenhouse, in the afternoon I talk about blockchain technology, cryptocurrency and the new world - ha!

Remember: Variety's the very spice of life.

Much love,
Marly -

Thanks for your valuable time!
This blog was launched at the end of July 2016
aiming to provide stories for open-minded
people who enjoy living on the edge of their lives,
stepping out of comfort zones, going on adventure,
doing extreme sports and embracing the new.
Welcome to the too-much-energy-blog!

PS: Taste the different flavors of life!

Original content.

Sort:  

That's so cool! Do you have to test the chillies?

I don't have to... I can! :-) We use them a lot for cooking as well.
Against the common belief, not all hot peppers are terribly hot. The superhots as they're called are actually just for marketing :-)

Also if you're able to create a new world record leader in heat, then this may make you become quite rich.

Here's one of my favourites: Dong Xuan Market (a variety from Vietnam) stuffed with tuna and creamcheese 🌶 Hot but still very enjoyable.
donxuan.png

Now I'm thinking about hot sauce!

What a great thing to be involved in :)

Oh, the hot sauce market is huge, especially in the US!
There are few things better in the world than a good barbecue including hot salsas :-)

You're not wrong there! Delicious :)

watering tomatoes in an .... unconventional way :-)

Looks more like showering tomatoes 🚿🍅

Haha, you're right!!

I love chilies and so a greenhouse full of them would be a dream come true!

You chose a good time to be elsewhere this morning, and I'm glad to hear you have all your followers back. Are we betting who will get to 10k first, I think you will!

Haha, lucky me I have them back! All of them :-D

Besides chilies we also have tomatoes (in summer). I love eating them directly from the plant! Best taste ever :-)

Uuuuuh another bet? That's not very fair, you're almost hitting 10K and I'm still 1K behind you - haha!
I'd need to do some magic...

So you bet I make it first? Then I'm in! Haha

Fresh veggies and fruits are ace, I love the smell of tomato vines :)

Ok, lets bet 1 STEEM - I bet you get to 10k first!

Oh yes! The smell is unique. Pure nature!

Agreed! 1 Steem on you :-)

Maybe now is the moment to finally do the striptease on DLive and get these missing 1.7K followers with one post...? :-D LOL

LOL!!!!

Are you sure for 1 STEEM?! hahaha

Hmmmm.... I’ll re-consider that! Haha

Hey @surfermarly? Do you grow any Carolina Reapers?

Sure! But it’s a complicated variety - not the best cropper. We cultivate them due to the high demand :) There are varieties that are a lot more fun!

Pepper farming makes you hot and surfing makes you cold. In the end, you come out balanced from both of them.

A balanced and spicy life.

BTW, you don't work in marketing and sales anymore?

Haha, yeah it's a great balance without any doubt!

Well the new job also includes marketing and sales since my dad's gonna make the boss next year :-) Then I'll have to prove what I really learned from him...

I believe that you can turn your company into a multimillion empire(if it is not already that).

You will do well.

Sweet, looks like a enjoyable job to look after plants ;) I love getting in the garden on the weekend after a good surf. Even just watering the garden gives us a moment to be in silence ;)

I love getting in the garden on the weekend after a good surf. Even just watering the garden gives us a moment to be in silence ;)

Then our weekends look pretty similar though :-)

You're right: the silence of the garden and its oxygen boost is amazing.

I'm a kid of Internet, too.

I always liked computers and I will probably spend a big portion of my life in front of computer as I'm on a computional engineering college, and will probably work with computers.

And just like you, I have my own garden and my family produces microvegetables.

I always try to live the healthy life, and like this you know what you put in that soil.

You're sure some chemicals were not used and that it's organic.

Wow, that's a cool bio!
I studied Computer Science in Media, so it seems that there are some parallels in our lives :-)

What are microvegetables?

fbccb5bad19043e6a137e9e174e09d42.jpg

It looks like this.

It's got a pretty strong taste and it is often used in salads to enhance the flavour.

It actually has like 5 times more minerals and vitamins than the fully grown plant.

My favourite one is heartburn (the main ingredient of mustard), but it's got pretty strong taste, so not everyone would like it.

Interesting! Looks like cress (peppergrass).

I think I’ve never tried it. If I had more time, I’d love to cultivate salad and other vegetables on my own. Self-made is the best quality one may get :)

any chance on getting some seeds sent to my place here in switzerland??
I like growing things on my balcony and this might be a nice addition.
Something not toooo spicy por favor (if possible)
will be happy to pay in steem :-)
(potential untapped market?)

Haha, sure! We've got a lot of clients in Switzerland.
Check the website semillas.de and tell me what you like plus send me an address - via discord please. We've got more than 800 varieties online now, so it'd be hard for me to choose on your behalf :-)
But if I may give you a recommendation: Rocotos are my favourites. They've got a very unique flavour.

If cryptocurrencies were stable currencies, then we'd probably think about including them as an official means of payment :-) Until then we'll accept fiat only.

well, it may be a bit unstable but I would not imagine there would be a whole lot of takers to pay in crypto anyway
but its a good marketing gimmick and then when the time comes you are ready
and the steem you got now just make a semillas account and park them there, sell the voting power and it will even gain a bit in amount and if it gains massively in value so much the better
its quite low risk but as marketing tool its cool
We have a meetup and were selling drinks for fiat... next week we will go with the flow and set up crypto payments... if we are convinced it is the future then we must be the ones that start using it. If everyone says it is to volatile it will never stabilise through use

Amazing post, couldn't agree more :) I have to ask: What is your favourite variety? I'm crazy about growing tomatoes and peppers myself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94