Who is André the Giant?

in #story6 years ago

'Oh, I'm about to go Andre the Giant
You a sell out, but I ain't buying'- my best part of a song Lil Wayne featured in, ' I'm on one '.
I'd sing it out loud so many times, and then once I asked myself what's 'a' André the Giant, only to look him up on Google and find out he's actually a person, and a very interesting person at that.

So, who is André the Giant?

84558820.jpg

The 7ft4", 520Ib giant, Andre René Roussimoff was born France on May 19, 1946 with gigantism .His size was a result of the gigantism caused by excess growth hormone, which later resulted in acromegaly. He left his home at age fourteen to begin his wrestling career. He was a professional career and is particularly famous for his feud with Hulk Hogan. He defeated Hulk Hogan. He never got married and had several health complications due to his size. He was known for massive consumption of alcohol and is known to this day as the world's greatest alcoholic. He was believed to have consumed over 7,000 calories a day from alcohol alone. He was said to have consumed bottles of beer in seconds. Wow! Could this be why he was a part of Lil Waynes lyrics?
The giant also acted in some movies, obviously as a giant, the dearest one to him being The Princess Bride 1987. He never got married, and died in a hotel room in France in 1993 from a heart attack. He is one of the greatest wrestlers in history and is known as the strongest man of his time.


Below are some quotes and pictures of André the Giant :

  • "I used to love Andre The Giant. I could sit around all day and listen to Andre stories. He was such a wonderful, unique guy who everyone loved being around. The thing about Andre, he just had this magical mystique about him."
    -Stone Cold Steve Austin

  • "My very favorite wrestler of all time was Andre the Giant. He was sort of like my best friend, believe it or not, and I have a picture in 'People' magazine of me sitting on his lap when I was 8 years old after 'WrestleMania I.'"
    -Stephanie McMahon

  • "Hulk Hogan slamming Andre the Giant. I remember watching WrestleMania with my family and friends on TV... 93,000 people in the Silverdome. When Hogan picked up Andre, I got goosebumps."
    -John Cena

  • "Do you remember the wrestler Andre the Giant? Famous. He had acromegaly."
    Malcolm Gladwell


Andre the giant turned his abnormality into a means of living, and doing what made him happy and gave him a good pay as well.
Don't sit there and complain, when life gives you lemons, make some lemonade!!


Pictures:
84558811.jpg

84558814.jpg

84558826.jpg

84558820.jpg

84558822.jpg

84558825.jpg

Thanks for reading this post. I hope you enjoyed it, and learned something. Have a nice day!


SOURCES
Images

https://www.biography.com/

https://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/malcolm_gladwell_662381

Sort:  

Congratulations @sunshie! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62869.05
ETH 2545.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72