Storms, Buffalo, and Cows - Advice on How to Face Difficult Challenges!

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Storms, Buffalo, and Cows.jpg

How do you face adversity and challenges? I heard a story over the weekend that made me rethink how I should face difficult situations.

Rory Vade, author and coach, wrote a book entitled Take the Stairs: 7 Steps to Achieving True Success. He explains that "problems that are procrastinated are only amplified."

Below is a retelling of a story from his book, which explains how ultra-performers face difficult challenges:

sumatranate line 14px.png

Colorado is most famous for the Rocky mountains, but most people do not realize that the state is divided into two distinct landscapes: mountains and plains. Because of this unique combination of terrain, Colorado is one of the few places in the world where buffalo and cows live in close proximity.

As storms build in the Rocky mountains then start to move towards the eastern plains of Colorado, we are given an two drastically different examples of how to handle adversity.

bull-2438032_640.jpg

A cow's response to the approaching storm is very natural, but albeit foolish. When cows see a storm, they turn away from the storm and head in the opposite direction making all efforts to out run the storm. Cows can not outrun storms! So instead of decreasing the amount of pain and suffering (the goal), cows instead increase the amount of difficulties and challenges they face by running at the same pace as the storm (the problem).

bison-1581895_640.jpg

A buffalo's response is quite different. Instead of running away from the storm, buffalo run into the storm. Just like the cow, a buffalo will be battered by the initial wave of rain and wind. Just like the cow, the buffalo will be wet and tired. But unlike the cow, the buffalo decreases the amount of pain and suffering by moving through the storm instead of moving with the storm.

sumatranate line 14px.png

As we face challenges when need to consider what approach we should take:

  1. Do we procrastinate addressing issues and concerns in lives which amplifies the impact of the problems we face?
  2. Or do we face problems head on and move on with life?

I choose to be a buffalo! I want to invite you to you me. Leave a comment below if you choose to join me!

sumatranate - Steemdads.png

sumatranate line 14px.png

Upvote if you like this post!
Follow if you want more like it!
Resteem if other people need to hear this message!

Take the Stairs: 7 Steps to Achieving True Success

sumatranate line 14px.png

Image Sources:
1 - https://pixabay.com/en/yellowstone-national-park-wyoming-1589613/
2 - https://pixabay.com/en/bison-buffalo-herd-wildlife-1581895/
3 - https://pixabay.com/en/bull-cow-animal-farm-agriculture-2438032/

Sort:  

Great story and so very true. Love the analogy of the cow and buffalo. Dealing with procrastination is perhaps the biggest obstacle one faces in achieving success. It is only conquered by the motivation to achieve, and that is a battle each person must wage themselves.

@orionschariot, I appreciate the following: a battle each person must wage themselves

That is so true. We need to find the right goals. We need to know our why, and move forward towards our goals.

I really found a lot of value in the analogy comparing the different approaches. I myself believe that facing the issues now saves a lot of resources on the back end whether they be: time, capital, or sweat. I also love the steemdads picture you've got! Great post.

I completely agree that taking things head on now saves a lot of resources later. But isn't it amazing how our scared natural takes over?

@daddykirbs made the steemdads badge. I paid 1 SBD for it! He offers a variety of badges.

I learned to take shelter and wait out the storm! But facing the storm is my second best option!

@reddust, taking shelter is good too. I am just afraid that my natural tendency is to run. I am learning how to take proactive steps to addressing issues instead of avoiding them.

Thanks for another perspective. I appreciate it!

I learned how to do this sitting in meditation retreats. You cannot move so what do you do when pain, flooding emotions and thoughts storm and rage within the mind? Take shelter in upekkha, equanimity which is an unshakable composure of the mind ....I figured out pain isn't like a bus going to run me over in real life. It's actually empty like a bubble, same with intense bliss. I was subjected to both during long retreats. When the horrible pain in my back passed I was hit by the most intense bliss I've ever experienced in my life and the visions I've been painting. Both pass, both are empty. One I wanted to run from the other made me feel like a buddha sitting on a lotus blossom. The bliss is actually the most dangerous of all feelings and one can spend the rest of ones life chasing. I knew I wasn't a Buddha because I was taught to view all sensation as equal in nature....empty like bubbles...

Cows can not outrun storms!

This made me laugh. Good analogy.

@lilrut, glad you had a good laugh! Thanks for the comment and support.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sumatranate from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Congratulations @sumatranate! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53807.82
ETH 2237.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30