You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tales from Bitcointalk Forum - Lending in The Early Days of Bitcoin #1

in #story6 years ago

I heard a story of the first ever purchase of an item with bitcoin being a pizza, that was something like 1,000 bitcoin the guy paid for the pizza. I guess he has continuing case of upset stomach after that.
It is amazing how as the value goes up the trust and faith in people has to go down, simply because scammers will ultimately show up and screw things up for the honest people.

Sort:  

Yeah, I've mentioned a few of those famous stories in one of my older blog posts.
https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@daan/what-happened-to-bitcointalk-forum

Some are pretty interesting to read about, also the term 'HODL' was created on that forum.

This was the first of your work I had looked at so thanks for the link and I will check it out, if memory serves me correct I think "HODL" stands for "holding on for dear life" and not just "hold" misspelled or spelled in a foreign language spelling.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hodl

The backronym (holding on for dear life) came later actually, that post on Bitcointalk was actually the first case of the term being used. And it was a spelling mistake :)

This wouldn't be the first time I've been wrong, just the first that I have admitted it, I stand corrected.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.52
ETH 3097.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88