I do not go to church, but I still consider myself a believer

in #story6 years ago

A little bit about yourself. Surgeon. I spend operations mainly on the upper intestine for 16 years. I was brought up in a strictly atheistic family. We never went to church, and religious holidays did not celebrate. I was an atheist as a child.

I will say at once that thanks to the work I saw this, after which the person will never be the same again. I have several deaths on my hands. Once I was wrong. Yes, I did mistakes before that. But my mistakes never led to death. I still do not understand how I could have made such stupid mistakes. I could all write off to the wild workload, fatigue, a headache ... I could find a million reasons, but I will not. I'm the only one to blame. My mistakes have become fatal.

After the first such mistake I could not sleep, I could not eat, I did not even want to talk to anyone. I tried to hide from everyone. I did not want to change anyone at all. As if something broke inside. I did not care about the consequences. I blamed myself for negligence. It was necessary then to be reinsured, but did not do it.

Somehow my heart began to beat after reading the Bible. I do not even know how the book was in my hands. Who gave it to me? Where did it come from? Apparently, the priest has forgotten, and maybe one of the visitors in the ordinarian left, I do not know.

I was finally convinced that the Higher Forces really exist, after the incident with the 20-year-old guy. He was brought to us with a fatal diagnosis. After that, they do not survive, but his mother begged to have him operated. She asked to cut off everything that would not work anymore, she asked to give her son to live at least an extra week so that relatives could say goodbye. Conducted the operation. I just could not not do it. And you know ... The guy lived a week. With him already said goodbye to all relatives, all friends. But he was not in a hurry to die ... lived another week. Has gone on the amendment. I did not even believe that he would survive. But this guy is now 27 years old, but he is alive. I know that he got a family, he has children. I know this, because every year on September 26 my mother calls me and thanks me. I'm uncomfortable listening to praise, but I can not drop the incoming call from her.

After another dozen "doomed" patients survived. I was looking for an explanation. Tried to find common sense, but did not find.

Now every time before the operation I read a prayer, I ask God to give me strength. And every time the Lord helps.

Sort:  

Miracle exist and it is a revelation , a reminder that we don't understand everything and we are only a tiny part of a complex universe.

I am sure we haven't understood all universe power at work, is it god or something else? i don't know but i believe we are far away to understand how it works and we should keep our mind open.

You save lives, do your best and be indulgent with yourself, we are only humans.

hmm...i believe that the whole universe was created and by the almighty God. the reason is because i dont actually see a house that just came into existence on its own. some civil engineer must have done some work in building it.

Miracles do exist if you have faith
and pray to God whenever faced with critical situations.,he could even do one for you without you asking him. it is also right to pray to him even when not in problem situations but just to thank him for the life you live.

I can say you are right.
Some times I could be the most religious person you would ever meet, the other times I am simply in doubt of my faith.
I know that there is a God.
But sometimes I tell myself that maybe he has forgotten us.
The more I ask questions the more I am left with questions I have no answer to.
But the bible says that the way of man are not His ways.
Even when the doubt becomes strong, I experience a miracle that makes it all melt away.
Finally I can say that religion is about faith and not about reason.

!cheetah ban

ID- Hard

another important thing to do is also to have gatherings with the right people from the right religion (as religion has been much of a menace in recent times) so that you all make interchange of encouragement and sharing of life such like the miracle you just shared here.

I'm glad you found The Way. :-) God bless you.

Welcome! I hope the operation goes well.

Brethren gathering is also good.

Nice to see you found faith man! nothings better then that!

I felt like crying when i read this. Another way of God. He just seems to find a way to get our attention and once we give it to Him, He manifests His glory in us and through us.

I celebrate you and your testimony with pride and in love.

Hi @steemrecipes I was raised a catholic and did go to church as a child, I did lapse for many years but still believed, I do now go to church sometimes but I believe you don't need to go to church to pray, god is everywhere, so where ever you are he always has time for a chat :)

This is just further proof that God uses, what can be seen as bad events for the salvation of souls and his greater glory.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51